Press release

Prime Minister appoints new members of the Council for Science and Technology

The Prime Minister David Cameron has appointed 5 new members to the Council for Science and Technology (CST).

This was published under the 2010 to 2015 Conservative and Liberal Democrat coalition government


The Council’s remit is to advise the Prime Minister on strategic science and technology policy issues that cut across the responsibilities of individual government departments.

Government Chief Scientific Adviser Sir Mark Walport said:

I am pleased that 5 new members will be joining the Council for Science and Technology. They bring a great breadth of experience and expertise and I am confident that their contributions will enable the council to continue to provide the very best advice to government on the scientific opportunities and challenges in the coming years.

New members

The new members are:

Professor Philip Bond

Professor Philip Bond is a visiting fellow at the Oxford Centre for Industrial and Applied Mathematics and a visiting Professor in the departments of Computer Science and Engineering Mathematics at the University of Bristol. He was recently a lead expert for the Government Office for Science Foresight report ‘The future of computer trading in financial markets’.

Anne Glover

Anne Glover is Chief Executive of Amadeus Capital partners Ltd. She co-founded Amadeus in 1997 which has since raised £600 million in capital. She is a prominent venture capitalist specialising in the technology industry. She has worked extensively with the Technology Strategy Board, and advised government on procurement and the European commission on research policy. She has been Chairman of the British Private Equity and Venture Capital Association, and has been sought as a spokesperson for the Venture Capital industry on a European level.

Professor Sarah Harper

Professor Sarah Harper is Professor of Gerontology at the University of Oxford, Director of the Oxford Institute of Population Ageing and Senior Research Fellow at Nuffield College. She is a Governor of the Pensions Policy Institute, and a Director of the Pension Foundation Club Vita. She currently chairs the Lead Expert Group for the Foresight Review on Ageing Societies and serves on the Scientific Advisory Board of Natural England.

Dervilla Mitchell

Dervilla Mitchell is a Director of Arup, the global design, engineering and consultancy firm. She sits on both group and regional boards and is a member of the Arup Global Aviation Executive as well as leading the aviation business in the UKMEA region. She is a Vice President of the Royal Academy of Engineering and chairs their awards committee.

Professor Fiona Murray

Professor Fiona Murray is Professor of Entrepreneurship at MIT Sloan School of Management. She is an international expert on the transformation of investments in scientific and technical innovation into innovation-based entrepreneurship that drives jobs, wealth creation, and regional prosperity. Fiona has a special interest in how policies, programs, and relationships between academia and industry can be designed to accelerate the productive role of universities in their local entrepreneurial ecosystem.

The period of the appointment is from 24 March 2014 until 31 December 2016. The appointments are not remunerated.

Notes to editors

  1. The appointments were made in accordance with the Office of the Commissioner for Public Appointments’ Code of practice for ministerial appointments to public bodies.

  2. Members of the Council for Science and Technology are:
    • Sir Mark Walport - Government Chief Scientific Adviser (Co-chair of the CST)
    • Professor Dame Nancy Rothwell - President and Vice-Chancellor of the University of Manchester (Independent Co-chair)
    • Professor Sir Keith Burnett FRS - Vice Chancellor of Sheffield University
    • Professor Steven Cowley - CEO of the UKAEA
    • Mr Rowan Douglas - CEO of Willis Re Global Analytics and Chairman of Willis Research Network
    • Dr Paul Golby CBE FREng - Chair of the EPSRC
    • Professor Dame Julia Goodfellow FMedSci - Vice Chancellor University of Kent
    • Dr Michael Lynch OBE FREng - founder of Invoke Capital
    • Sir Paul Nurse FRS - President of the Royal Society (ex-officio member)
    • Sir John Parker FREng - President of the Royal Academy of Engineering (ex-officio member)
    • Lord Stern of Brentford - President of the British Academy (ex-officio member)
    • Mr Colin Smith FREng - Director of Engineering and Technology at Rolls-Royce
    • Professor Sir Christopher Snowden FRS FREng - Vice Chancellor and CEO of Surrey University
    • Dr Graham Spittle CBE - Chief Technology Officer and Vice President, Software Group Europe
    • Professor Sir John Tooke FMedSci - President of the Academy of Medical Sciences (ex-officio member)
  3. The CST reports directly to the Prime Minister. Its terms of reference are to advise the Prime Minister on the strategic policies and framework for:
    • sustaining and developing science, engineering, technology and mathematics (STEM) in the UK, and promoting international co-operation in STEM
    • fostering the practice and perception of science, engineering and technology as an integral part of the culture of the UK
    • promoting excellence in STEM education
    • making more effective use of research and scientific advice in the development and delivery of policy and public services across government
    • promoting STEM-based innovation in business and the public services to promote the sustainable development of the UK economy, the health and quality of life of UK citizens, and global sustainable development

The CST works on cross-cutting issues of strategic importance, taking a medium to longer-term approach. In developing its advice it takes into account the cultural, economic, environmental, ethical and social context of developments in STEM.

Published 25 March 2014