News story

Prime Minister appoints Natural History Museum Trustees

The Prime Minister has appointed Hilary Newiss and Simon Patterson to the Board of Trustees of the Natural History Museum.

This was published under the 2010 to 2015 Conservative and Liberal Democrat coalition government


Hilary Newiss and Simon Patterson are appointed as Natural History Museum Trustees for 4 years from 5 January 2015 to 4 January 2019.


Hilary Newiss

Hilary Newiss is a lawyer and former partner in Denton Hall solicitors, now Dentons. She specialises in intellectual property law and has served on several public bodies in the science, innovation and ethics fields. She is currently a Non-Executive Director of the Francis Crick Institute, Chair of National Voices, and Deputy Chair of the Somerville College Development Board.

Simon Patterson

Simon Patterson is a Managing Director at Silver Lake, a leading technology investment firm. Prior to Silver Lake he held various leadership roles in established and start-up digital media and software businesses, including the Financial Times. He is currently a Non-Executive Director of N Brown Group plc, a member of the Advisory Board of the Prince’s Trust, and a Tech City advisor. He holds an MBA from the Stanford Graduate School of Business, preceded by undergraduate studies in anthropology at the University of Cambridge.

Published 12 January 2015