News story

PCC election results

Police and crime commissioners take office today.

This was published under the 2010 to 2015 Conservative and Liberal Democrat coalition government

See other News and speeches

Tuesday, 13 Nov 2012

Police and crime commissioners take office today, almost two years to the day since the Police Reform and Social Responsibility Bill was introduced to Parliament heralding their introduction.

They start the job today and will be in post until May 2016. Police and crime commissioners (PCCs) will:

  • be directly accountable to the public and subject to ongoing public scrutiny
  • have the democratic mandate to respond to local people’s concerns
  • set local force’s policing priorities and their local police force budget
  • work with local partners to prevent crime
  • hold their chief constable to account for the performance of the force
  • appoint, and where necessary, dismiss the chief constable

Before they can exercise these powers, the PCCs take an oath of impartiality to publicly set out their commitment to tackling their new role with integrity and serve all the people they represent.

Police and crime commissioner election results

The table below displays the results from the various force areas. You can also view the winning candidates’ election statements on the candidate website,

Table of police and crime commissioner results

Police force Elected candidate Candidate statement

Avon & Somerset Sue Mountstevens Sue Mountstevens’ statement

Bedfordshire Olly Martins Olly Martins’ statement

Cambridgeshire Sir Graham Bright Sir Graham Bright’s statement

Cheshire John Dwyer John Dwyer’s statement

Cleveland Barry Coppinger Barry Coppinger’s statement

Cumbria Richard Rhodes Richard Rhodes’ statement

Derbyshire Alan Charles Alan Charles’ statement

Devon & Cornwall Tony Hogg Tony Hogg’s statement

Dorset Martyn Underhill Martyn Underhill’s statement

Durham Ron Hogg Ron Hogg’s statement

Dyfed-Powys Christopher Salmon Christopher Salmon’s statement

Essex Nick Alston Nick Alston’s statement

Gloucestershire Martin Surl Martin Surl’s statement

Greater Manchester Tony Lloyd Tony Lloyd’s statement

Gwent Ian Johnston Ian Johnston’s statement

Hampshire Simon Hayes Simon Hayes’ statement

Hertfordshire David Lloyd David Lloyd’s statement

Humberside Matthew Grove Matthew Grove’s statement

Kent Ann Barnes Ann Barnes’ statement

Lancashire Clive Grunshaw Clive Grunshaw’s statement

Leicestershire Sir Clive Loader Sir Clive Loader’s statement

Lincolnshire Alan Hardwick Alan Hardwick’s statement

Merseyside Jane Kennedy Jane Kennedy’s statement

Norfolk Stephen Bett Stephen Bett’s statement

North Wales Winston Roddick Winston Roddick’s statement

North Yorkshire Julia Mulligan Julia Mulligan’s statement

Northamptonshire Adam Simmonds Adam Simmonds’ statement

Northumbria Vera Baird Vera Baird’s statement

Nottinghamshire Paddy Tipping Paddy Tipping’s statement

South Wales Alun Michael Alun Michael’s statement

South Yorkshire Shaun Wright Shaun Wright’s statement

Staffordshire Matthew Ellis Matthew Ellis’ statement

Suffolk Tim Passmore Tim Passmore’s statement

Surrey Kevin Hurley Kevin Hurley’s statement

Sussex Katy Bourne Katy Bourne’s statement

Thames Valley Anthony Stansfeld Anthony Stansfeld’s statement

Warwickshire Ron Ball Ron Ball’s statement

West Mercia Bill Longmore Bill Longmore’s statement

West Midlands Bob Jones Bob Jones’ statement

West Yorkshire Mark Burns-Williamson Mark Burns-Williamson’s statement

Wiltshire Angus Macpherson Angus Macpherson’s statement

Published 13 October 2012