News story

New Year's honours 2011

Congratulations to all local government staff who have had their hard work and dedication recognised in the New Year Honours List.

This was published under the 2010 to 2015 Conservative and Liberal Democrat coalition government

CBE with military ribbon

As is so often the case, this year’s list contains a significant number of people from local government, reflecting the huge impact they have on society.

Local Government Minister Grant Shapps said:

I am delighted to see the hard work of so many in local government given the recognition it deserves - these people have gone the extra mile to improve the lives of many and it is right that we should celebrate their achievements.

Recipients for services to local government include:

  • Donna Hall CBE, Chief Executive, Chorley Borough Council
  • Colin Carmichael OBE, Chief Executive, Canterbury Council
  • Elizabeth Cartwright OBE, Chair, Hampshire Alliance for Rural Affordable Housing
  • Jean Dent OBE, Lately Director of City Development, Leeds City Council
  • Nargis Khan OBE, Deputy Chair, Community Wellbeing Board, Local Government Association
  • Councillor Colin Rigby OBE, Lately Member, Blackburn with Darwen Council
  • Neil Munslow MBE, Housing Services Manager, Newcastle-upon-Tyne City Council
  • Gaye Thomas MBE, Librarian, London Borough of Barking and Dagenham

The New Year Honours List also recognised many community activists who are supporting the Big Society through volunteering, fundraising, social action and philanthropy in their local area.

Published 31 December 2010