Press release

New Chair of the British Pharmacopoeia Commission

The Department of Health announces the new Chair of the British Pharmacopoeia Commission.

This was published under the 2010 to 2015 Conservative and Liberal Democrat coalition government


The Department of Health today announced that Professor Kevin Taylor will be the new Chair of the British Pharmacopoeia Commission (BPC) from October 2013. Professor Taylor is Head of the Department of Pharmaceutics at University College of London School of Pharmacy.

The BPC is an advisory non-departmental public body and is responsible for updating and preparing new editions of the British Pharmacopoeia, the British Pharmacopoeia (Veterinary) and the British Approved Names. It also provides advice to the United Kingdom delegation to the European Pharmacopoeia Commission, of which the United Kingdom is a member state.

Lord Howe, Health Minister and Edwin Poots, Northern Ireland Health Minster welcome Professor Taylor to the BCP.

Lord Howe, Health Minister said:

I am pleased to announce the appointment of Professor Taylor as the new Chair of the British Pharmacopoeia Commission. The Commission has a crucial job in providing authoritative official standards for pharmaceutical substances and medicinal products to researchers, scientists and industry.

Professor Taylor will bring a huge amount of experience and knowledge to the role, and I wish him all the best in building on the excellent work of the Commission and taking the organisation forward.

Sir Gordon Duff, Chair of the MHRA said:

I am delighted to welcome Professor Taylor as the new Chairman of the BPC. He will bring a wealth of experience to the role to uphold the high standards of the British Pharmacopoeia, a world leader in medicinal standards for almost 150 years.

Background information

  1. For media enquiries please ring the Department of Health press office on (0207) 210 5197.
  2. BPC is led by a board made up of a Chairman and 17 Members. Appointments are made jointly by the Secretary of State for Health and the Northern Ireland Health Minister and require consultation with Scotland.
  3. This appointment is made in accordance with the Code of Practice for Ministerial Appointments to Public Bodies, issued by the Commissioner for Public Appointments. All appointments are made on merit and political activity played no part in the selection process. However, in accordance with the original Nolan recommendations, there is a requirement for appointees’ political activity (if any declared) to be made public. Professor Kevin Taylor has not declared any current political activity.
  4. Professor Taylor holds another Ministerial appointment as Commissioner of the Commission on Human Medicines.
  5. Professor Taylor has been appointed for four years. He will receive a fee of £500 per meeting attended, including preparation time, for a time commitment of 3 BPC meetings per year, including preparation time and attendance at European Pharmacopoeia Commission meetings as required (usually three 3-day meetings per year).
  6. For further information visit the BPC website
Published 18 October 2013