News story

National rollout of Universal Credit continues today

Today, 25 more jobcentres start offering Universal Credit from Durham to Reading.

Universal Credit

This morning (21 September 2015) all new single claimants applying for unemployment benefits at these jobcentres will start claiming Universal Credit:

  • Abergavenny
  • Amlwch
  • Andover
  • Bishop Auckland
  • Borehamwood
  • Caldicot
  • Chepstow
  • Chester-le-Street
  • Consett
  • Crawley
  • Crook
  • Durham
  • Haywards Heath
  • Hemel Hempstead
  • Holyhead
  • Horsham
  • Llangefni
  • Merthyr Tydfil
  • Newton Aycliffe
  • Peterlee
  • Reading
  • Seaham
  • Spennymoor
  • Stanley
  • Winchester

Are you ready to claim Universal Credit? It’s the new benefit that makes it easier to take up a wider range of jobs and get back to work quickly.

Watch a video explaining how Universal Credit helps you into work.

Universal Credit help you into work

Universal Credit will eventually replace 6 existing benefits:

  • Jobseeker’s Allowance
  • Income Support
  • Employment and Support Allowance
  • Working Tax Credit
  • Child Tax Credits
  • Housing Benefit

See the list of jobcentre areas where you can claim Universal Credit.

Published 21 September 2015
Last updated 23 September 2015 + show all updates
  1. Changed "24 more jobcentres" to "25 more jobcentres" and added "Amlwch" to the list.
  2. Removed "Amlwch" from list (new claims taken at Llangefni).
  3. First published.