Press release

More pupils to benefit from Dux awards scheme next year

Details on the 2013 Dux awards scheme, which rewards top performance by pupils from maintained secondary schools.

This was published under the 2010 to 2015 Conservative and Liberal Democrat coalition government

Schools minister David Laws today said he wanted more pupils to benefit from the successful Dux awards scheme next year.

All 24 Russell Group universities will take part in the 2013 scheme, recognising and rewarding top performance and potential in maintained secondary school pupils, and raising their aspirations. Teachers select a Year 9 pupil as their “Dux” (latin for champion), who is rewarded with a visit to a Russell Group university.

The Russell Group represents leading UK universities which are committed to maintaining high-quality research, outstanding teaching and education, and excellent links with business and the public sector.

This year, the first of the scheme, 1400 pupils from 750 schools attended a special event at one of the universities.

David Laws said he hoped to expand the scheme significantly that next year, with around 2000 schools registering. Registration for next year’s scheme will open in late January and close in mid-February. The events are due to be held from May to July.

David Laws said:

Feedback following this year’s scheme has been very positive and there was a very high standard of events delivered by Russell Group members.

I now want to see the scheme help raise the aspirations of more pupils, and I want more schools to take part and reward those who have performed to a very high level or shown real promise. All schools should play their part in supporting their pupils to set their sights high.

A visit to one of our great universities is an eye-opening experience that should raise the sights of both pupils and teachers.

Dr Wendy Piatt, Director General of the Russell Group, said:

We are delighted to be offering more bright prospective students the opportunity to come and meet our students and staff and have taster sessions this year. Wherever you’re from, with the right grades, attitude and potential, you have a good chance of getting into a Russell Group university.

Notes to editors

  1. The Russell Group’s 24 members are Birmingham, Bristol, Cambridge, Cardiff, Durham, Edinburgh, Exeter, Glasgow, Imperial College London, King’s College London, Leeds, Liverpool, London School of Economics & Political Science, Manchester, Newcastle, Nottingham, Oxford, Queen Mary, Queen’s University Belfast, Sheffield, Southampton, University College London, Warwick and York. More details can be found on the Russell Group website.

  2. Last year the Russell Group published Informed Choices which gives guidance to teachers and students about how A level subject choice can affect university options. In addition its members are also very clear about preferred subjects.

  3. In the financial year 2016 to 2017, the £36.8million which Russell Group universities will spend on outreach measures will be used to support numerous summer schools, open days, special entry routes and access programmes to give students from lower socio-economic groups the best possible chance of winning a place. See the Russell Group website for more details of outreach activities and initiatives undertaken by Russell Group universities.

DfE media enquiries

Central newsdesk - for journalists 020 7783 8300


Updates to this page

Published 14 December 2012