News story

More London boroughs sign up for street works permit schemes

Road works permit schemes agreed for Greenwich, Harrow, Lambeth, Newham, Richmond, Southwark and Waltham Forest.

This was published under the 2010 to 2015 Conservative and Liberal Democrat coalition government


A scheme which gives councils greater power to co-ordinate works on their roads will extend into a further 7 London boroughs after they received the go-ahead by Regional and Local Transport Minister Norman Baker today (9 June 2011).

Greenwich, Harrow, Lambeth, Newham, Richmond, Southwark and Waltham Forest have all been successful in their application to run road works permit schemes. The schemes will allow the boroughs to require anyone carrying out road works to apply for a permit in advance and to set conditions on timing, coordination or the amount of road space to be left available to road users during the works. Those companies who break the terms of their permit or work without a permit can be fined.

The London Permit Scheme has run since January 2010 and today’s approvals will see a further 7 boroughs join it.

Regional and Local Transport Minister Norman Baker said:

Everyone who lives and works in London has experienced the frustration of having their journey disrupted by road works and I want to see councils and utility companies doing all they can to reduce the problems works cause for the travelling public.

That is why I am pleased that these seven councils are now able to join the London Permit Scheme and hope this will bring real benefits to more Londoners.

Last month the Department for Transport and Transport for London (TfL) announced a joint £1 million research project to examine innovative engineering techniques which could see utilities use temporary road surfacing methods and fast-setting replacement road surfaces. This would allow more work to be carried out at quieter times and for roads to be re-opened during peak traffic periods.

Further information

Permit schemes are currently in place in the City of London, Westminster City Council, The Royal Borough of Kensington and Chelsea and the London Boroughs of Barnet, Brent, Bromley, Camden, Croydon, Ealing, Enfield, Hackney, Hammersmith and Fulham, Haringey, Hounslow, Islington, Lewisham, Redbridge, Wandsworth and across the TfL network.

Outside London, Kent and Northamptonshire have put schemes in place.

Other local authorities currently drawing up plans for permit schemes are Common Permit Scheme (East of England), Greater Manchester Roads Activity Permit Scheme, Merseyside Authorities Permit Scheme and Yorkshire Common Permit Scheme.

Roads media enquiries

Published 9 June 2011