News story

Ministerial responsibilities announced

Roles and responsibilities for new ministers at the DCMS have been confirmed.

This was published under the 2010 to 2015 Conservative and Liberal Democrat coalition government

Rt Hon Jeremy Hunt MP, Secretary of State for Culture, Olympics, Media and Sport, has oversight of all areas.

John Penrose MP, Minister for Tourism and Heritage, will have responsibility for:

  • Tourism
  • Heritage and the Built Environment
  • Royal Parks and Royal Household
  • National Lottery
  • Licensing
  • Gambling
  • Horseracing

Hugh Robertson MP, Minister for Sport and the Olympics, will have responsibility for:

  • Sport
  • London 2012 Olympics and Paralympic Games

Ed Vaizey MP, Minister for Culture, Communications and Creative Industries (joint Minister with the Department for Business, Innovation and Skills), will have responsibility for:

  • Arts
  • Media
  • Museums and Galleries
  • Telecoms and Broadband
  • Digital Switchover
  • Creative Industries
  • Libraries

Updates to this page

Published 20 May 2010