News story

Civil/crime news: restructure looks to the future

Smaller agency with more streamlined processes.


A new executive leadership team has been created for the Legal Aid Agency (LAA).

The new team will hold responsibility for high-level strategy and business planing decisions. It will also report into, and work with, the non-executive board.

One senior leader will be leaving the organisation – Director of Legal Aid Commissioning and Strategy, Hugh Barrett. He is leaving the LAA on September 16 after almost 8 years. During this time he led on strategic and commissioning activities. His responsibilities are being picked up by other senior leaders.

Chief Executive Shaun McNally said: “I’d like to thank Hugh for the huge contribution he has made during his time with the organisation.

“I believe the changes we are now making will help us to capitalise on the achievements of the first few years of the LAA’s existence. Our aim is to build on our successes in a number of areas. For example, faster processing, clearing backlogs and reducing errors.”

Executive leadership team

Executive leadership team headed by Chief Executive, Shaun McNally CBE  
Director of Finance and Digital, James McEwen Head of Assurance, Amana Humayan
Deputy Director of Digital, Laurence Lewis Head of Corporate Centre, Sally Jones
Head of High Cost Civil Complex Cases, Malcolm Bryant Head of Contract Management, John Sirodcar
Joint Heads of Service Development and Commissioning, Lynn Evans/Laura Wensley Head of Public Defender Service, Clare Toogood
Head of Crime Case Management, Daniel Flury Principal Legal Adviser to the LAA, Ruth Wayte
Head of Planning and Performance is currently vacant HR Director, Joyce Irvine
Head of Civil Case Management, Jane Harbottle  

Role of new committees

There are 5 new committees with senior managers and subject matter experts to support the executive leadership team. They will have an important role in helping the leadership team, which in turn will support the board in providing oversight of the LAA’s delivery priorities.

  • Investment Committee, chaired by James McEwen with Adrian Hannell
  • Operations Committee, chaired by Jane Harbottle with Ruth Wayte
  • Finance and Risk Committee, chaired by Adrian Hannell with Amana Humayun
  • Change Board, chaired by Daniel Flury
  • People Committee, chaired by Claire Toogood with Lynn Evans/Laura Wensley
Published 12 September 2016