News story

Civic Honours competition results announced

Three places given city status in honour of The Queen’s Diamond Jubilee

This was published under the 2010 to 2015 Conservative and Liberal Democrat coalition government

Chelmsford, in Essex, Perth, in Scotland, and St Asaph, in North Wales, have been awarded the right to call themselves cities following the Diamond Jubilee Civic Honours competition.

Armagh, in Northern Ireland, was also today awarded the right to have a Lord Mayor.

The Government announced the awards have been made by The Queen on advice from Deputy Prime Minister and Lord President of the Privy Council, Nick Clegg.

Mr Clegg congratulated the winners, who he said were chosen from a field of “exceptional entrants”.

“Across the United Kingdom, I have been moved by the pride and passion which people have shown in putting their nominations forward,” the Deputy PM added. “The standard of application was very high and those who missed out should not be downhearted.”

The award of city status or a Lord Mayoralty is an honour bestowed by The Queen only on rare occasions. The last civic honours competition was held in 2002 to mark the Golden Jubilee when Preston, Stirling, Newport, Lisburn and Newry were awarded city status and Exeter was awarded a Lord Mayoralty.

Further information

Published 14 March 2012