Press release

Appointments to Chilterns and Cotswolds Conservation Boards

New appointments to England’s Areas of Outstanding Natural Beauty (AONB) Conservation Boards.

This was published under the 2010 to 2015 Conservative and Liberal Democrat coalition government

New appointments to England’s Areas of Outstanding Natural Beauty (AONB) Conservation Boards have been made by Secretary of State for Environment, Food and Rural Affairs, Owen Paterson. The appointments took effect at the start of April.

The post-holders are the national voice on the Conservation Boards, which have strategic responsibility for conservation and enhancement of the natural beauty of the AONB. A Conservation Board’s purposes include increasing public understanding and enjoyment of the special qualities of the area. A Conservation Board must seek to foster the economic and social well-being of local communities within the AONB.

Three new members have been appointed for three-year terms:

  • Cotswolds Conservation Board – Val Kirby;
  • Cotswolds Conservation Board – Edward Macalister-Smith; and
  • Chilterns Conservation Board – Alison Doggett

Four existing members of the Cotswolds Conservation Board and three existing members of the Chilterns Conservation Board have also been re-appointed for terms ranging from one year to three years:

  • Cotswolds Conservation Board – Reverend Jeffrey West;
  • Cotswolds Conservation Board – Simon Randall;
  • Cotswolds Conservation Board – Jo Burgon;
  • Cotswolds Conservation Board – Christine Shine;
  • Chilterns Conservation Board – Helen Tuff;
  • Chilterns Conservation Board – Simon Mortimer; and
  • Chilterns Conservation Board – Heather Barrett-Mold.

Additional information regarding the members listed will be made available on the individual AONB websites via:

For information about Areas of Outstanding Natural Beauty (AONB), including appointments, visit:

Updates to this page

Published 8 April 2013