World news story

Applications for 2015-16 Chevening Scholarships now open in China

Applications for Chevening, the UK’s scholarship programme, open today in China and across the world.

This was published under the 2010 to 2015 Conservative and Liberal Democrat coalition government

Applications for Chevening, the UK’s scholarship programme, open today in China and across the world.

Applications for Chevening, the UK’s scholarship programme, open today in China and across the world.

Chevening scholarships are part of a prestigious global scheme which opens up the UK’s world class universities to future leaders, influencers and decision makers.

The Scholarships, which are funded by the UK Foreign and Commonwealth Office (FCO) and partner organisations, operate in 118 countries worldwide and this year will support over 1,500 young leaders. Awards are typically for a one-year Master’s degree, in any subject and at any of the UK’s leading universities.

Mr. Hugo Swire, Minister of State at the Foreign & Commonwealth Office, said:

The Chevening programme is a long term investment in China, and it is a long term investment in the relationship between Britain and China. It enables individuals to establish social, cultural, academic or commercial partnerships with the UK and to increase mutual understanding between our two countries.

Chevening alumni have an excellent record of rising to positions of leadership across a wide range of fields including politics, business, the media, civil society, religion, and academia. Some work as MPs, leading journalists, or policy advisers to NGOs and think tanks; others occupy senior positions in commercial organisations.

The British Embassy in Beijing launched a new online portal in Mandarin last November, designed specifically to help Chinese nationals apply for the UK’s prestigious Chevening scholarship programme. The website, which can be found at, provides information and guidance to help new applicants understand the Chevening programme and application process.

Applicants are advised to read the online guidance and demonstrate how they meet the Chevening selection criteria before submitting an application. When ready, applications for Chevening Scholarships can be submitted online at The deadline for applications this year is 15 November at 23.59 GMT.

Notes to Editors

For further information, please contact: or follow us @英国志奋领 (Sina Weibo)

About Chevening Scholarships

Chevening Scholarships are the UK government’s global scholarship programme, funded by the Foreign and Commonwealth Office (FCO) and partner organisations. 2013 is the 30th anniversary of the Chevening programme, which was established in 1983 and has developed into a prestigious international scheme. Scholars come from 118 countries worldwide and over 1,500 Scholarships will be awarded this year. There are over 42,000 Chevening alumni around the world who together comprise an influential and highly regarded global network. We awarded 67 scholarships in China for the 2014-2015 academic year. For further information and to apply for a Chevening Scholarship please see and

Eligibility for 2015/16 Chevening Scholarships

Applicants for 2015/16 Chevening Scholarships must:

  • be a Chinese citizen living in the mainland China at the time of application, and intend to return to China at the end of the study;
  • meet the academic requirements for their chosen courses of study, e.g. bachelor’s degree recognised by the UK universities;
  • have been admitted by or at least have applied to a master’s course at a university in UK;
  • achieve the minimum Chevening English language requirement;
  • have completed at least two years’ work or equivalent experience before applying for a Chevening Scholarship;
  • not be employees, relatives of employees, or former employees (who left within the past two years) of Her Majesty’s Government including FCO (and its British Embassies and High Commissions), DFID, UKTI, MOD, BIS, UKBA, the Chevening Scholarship Secretariat, a partner (sponsor), or sponsoring UK university;
  • not be in receipt of any other scholarships or award for the academic year, and not have previously received a UK government-funded scholarship in the past three years.
Published 1 August 2014