Ministerial role

Parliamentary Under Secretary of State for Employment Relations and Consumer Affairs


The minister’s responsibilties include:

  • Post Office and postal policy
  • employment relations including Acas (Advisory, Conciliation and Arbitration Service)
  • consumer policy and consumer affairs
  • competition policy
  • corporate governance
  • company law
  • social enterprise
  • Insolvency Service, including company investigations
  • BIS better regulation and efficiency and reform agenda

Current role holder: Jo Swinson MP

In September 2012, Jo Swinson became Minister for Employment Relations and Consumer Affairs in the Department for Business, Innovation and Skills and Women and Equalities Minister. She was elected as the Liberal Democrat MP for East Dunbartonshire in 2005.


Jo was brought up in East Dunbartonshire, where she attended Douglas Academy in Milngavie. She studied Management at the London School of Economics.

Political career

Jo has previously been the Liberal Democrat Spokesperson on Foreign Affairs, Equality, Scotland and the Arts.

Jo was a member of the Environmental Audit Select Committee from 2007 to 2010 and was also Chairperson of the Liberal Democrats Women’s Policy Working Group in 2009.

As a backbench MP, Jo co-founded the All Party Parliamentary Groups on Allergy, Wellbeing Economics, and Body Image. Jo is also a Governor of the Ditchley Foundation.

Jo was a member of the Speaker’s Conference from 2009 to 2010, which looked at ways to increase the number of women and black and minority ethnic MPs.

Career outside politics

After graduating in 2000, Jo worked in Yorkshire as Marketing and PR Manager for the Emap radio station Viking FM.

In 2002 Jo moved back to East Dunbartonshire and worked for Glasgow-based media business SpaceandPeople.

Personal life

Jo enjoys running and completed the Loch Ness Marathon in 2007 and the London Marathon in April 2011. She also likes reading, hiking, and ceilidh dancing.

Jo is married to fellow Liberal Democrat MP Duncan Hames and they have one son.

Previous holders of this role

  1. Jenny Willott MP

    • 2013 to 2014
  2. Jo Swinson MP

    • 2012 to 2013
  3. The Rt Hon Norman Lamb MP

    • 2012 to 2012
  4. The Rt Hon Edward Davey MP

    • 2010 to 2012


  1. Corporate accountability

    • 27 October 2014
  2. Postal service reform

    • 7 October 2013
  3. Company law reform

    • 5 February 2013


Get updates to this list email feed

Copy and paste this URL in to your feed reader

  1. UK expertise can drive climate change action

    • 12 March 2015
    • Press release
  2. Energy Saving Opportunity Scheme Roadshow

    • 26 November 2014
    • Speech
  3. Better choices, better deals

    • 3 January 2013
    • Announcement
  4. Edward Davey appointed Secretary of State for Energy and Climate Change

    • 2 February 2012
    • Announcement
  5. The midata vision of consumer empowerment

    • 3 November 2011
    • Announcement
  6. Cutting accountancy and reporting fees for SMEs

    • 6 October 2011
    • Announcement
  7. Tackling employment law red tape

    • 3 October 2011
    • Announcement
  8. Building a mutual Post Office

    • 19 September 2011
    • Announcement
  9. European ministers meet to talk about growth

    • 7 July 2011
    • Announcement
  10. Chatham House Competition Policy Conference

    • 24 June 2011
    • Statement to Parliament