Ministerial role

Minister of State for Energy


The Minister of State for Energy supports the Secretary of State for Energy and Climate Change (DECC) issues and policy related to energy. The portfolio is as follows:

  • Infrastucture Bill (DECC clauses)
  • Supports the Secretary of state on electricity market reform
  • security of supply
  • international energy
  • carbon capture and storage, gas and coal policy
  • nuclear policy
  • renewable energy deployment
  • grid policy including smart grids and network of recharging points
  • Oil and Gas exploration, licensing and revenues
  • offshore environment and decommissioning
  • regulation and competition in the energy sector (including nuclear)
  • waste and decommissioning policy for new nuclear
  • resilience and emergency preparedness
  • Energy Council
  • Coal Authority

Previous holders of this role

  1. The Rt Hon Matt Hancock MP

    • 2014 to 2015
  2. The Rt Hon Sir Michael Fallon MP

    • 2013 to 2014
  3. The Rt Hon John Hayes CBE MP

    • 2012 to 2013
  4. Charles Hendry

    • 2010 to 2012


Get updates to this list email feed

Copy and paste this URL in to your feed reader

  1. Matthew Hancock energy speech to the NOF Conference

    • Speech
  2. Speech at the Europe-Canada Energy Summit

    • Speech
  3. The Association of Directors of Environment, Economy, Planning & Transport Annual Conference

    • Speech
  4. Andy Samuel new chief executive of Oil & Gas Authority as new North Sea licence blocks announced

    • Press release
  5. Energy Technology Showcase

    • Speech
  6. Matthew Hancock speech to the Innovation of Cool Earth Forum

    • Speech
  7. Ineos awarded license for onshore oil and gas exploration

    • Press release
  8. Government to remove barriers to onshore oil and gas and deep geothermal exploration

    • News story
  9. New onshore licensing round opens

    • Press release
  10. Southern Corridor on the agenda as Fallon visits Azerbaijan

    • News story