Ministerial role

Government Whip, Lord Commissioner of HM Treasury


Whips are MPs or Lords appointed by each party to help organise their party’s contribution to parliamentary business. They are responsible for making sure the maximum number of their party members vote, and vote the way their party wants.

Current role holder: David Rutley MP

David Rutley was appointed Government Whip on 15 June 2017.

Political career

David was first elected to Parliament in the 2010 General Election as the MP for Macclesfield. He has previously served on the Treasury Select Committee and as Parliamentary Private Secretary to several MPs.

Previous holders of this role

  1. Stephen Barclay MP

    • 2016 to 2017
  2. Charlie Elphicke

    • 2015 to 2016


Get updates to this list email feed

Copy and paste this URL in to your feed reader

  1. 4th Annual Meeting of the Global Islamic Finance and Investment Group‎

    • News story