Government Whip, Lord Commissioner of HM Treasury and Interim Parliamentary Under Secretary of State for the Environment

David Rutley MP


David Rutley was temporarily appointed Parliamentary Under Secretary of State at the Department for the Environment, Food and Rural Affairs on 22 May 2018 whilst Therese Coffey MP recovers from a period of illness. He is also a Government Whip, a position he has held since 15 June 2017.


David received a BSc(Econ) from the London School of Economics and a MBA from Harvard Business School.

Political career:

David was first elected to Parliament in the 2010 General Election as the MP for Macclesfield. He has previously served on the Treasury Select Committee and as Parliamentary Private Secretary to several Secretaries of State.

Career outside politics:

David spent most of his career in business and worked as a senior executive in major companies, including Asda, PepsiCo International, Halifax General Insurance and Barclays. From 1994 to 1996 he worked as a Special Advisor at the Treasury, the Cabinet Office and the Ministry of Agriculture.

Personal life:

David enjoys an active family life with his wife, Rachel, and their four children. He is a keen mountaineer and rock climber and enjoys skiing and bird watching.

Image credit: UK Parliament, used under Creative Commons.

Government Whip, Lord Commissioner of HM Treasury

Whips are MPs or Lords appointed by each party to help organise their party’s contribution to parliamentary business. They are responsible for making sure the maximum number of their party members vote, and vote the way their party wants.

Interim Parliamentary Under Secretary of State for the Environment

Responsibilities include:

  • natural environment, including biodiversity, the marine environment, and international wildlife trafficking
  • forestry, 25 Year Environment Plan
  • floods, water and waterways
  • air quality
  • resource and environment management


Get updates to this list email feed

Copy and paste this URL in to your feed reader

  1. Parliamentary Under Secretaries of State Appointments

    • Press release