Ministerial role

Government Whip, Lord Commissioner of HM Treasury


Whips are MPs or Lords appointed by each party to help organise their party’s contribution to parliamentary business. They are responsible for making sure the maximum number of their party members vote, and vote the way their party wants.

Current role holder: Jeremy Quin MP

Jeremy Quin MP was appointed as a Government Whip (Lord Commissioner of HM Treasury) on 5 November 2018.

He was previously an Assistant Government Whip.

Previous holders of this role

  1. Nigel Adams MP

    • 2018 to 2018
  2. Andrew Griffiths MP

    • 2016 to 2018
  3. The Rt Hon Mark Lancaster TD MP

    • 2012 to 2015