Ministerial role

Government Whip, Lord Commissioner of HM Treasury


Whips are MPs or Lords appointed by each party to help organise their party’s contribution to parliamentary business. They are responsible for making sure the maximum number of their party members vote, and vote the way their party wants.

Current role holder: Guy Opperman MP

Guy Opperman was appointed as a Government Whip (Lord Commissioner of HM Treasury) on 17 July 2016. He was elected Conservative MP for Hexham in May 2010.


Guy was educated at Harrow School, he went on to read law at the University of Birmingham. He also gained a first class diploma from the University of Lille.

Political career

Guy previously served as Private Parliamentary Secretary to Mark Harper, the then Immigration Minister. He served as an Assistant Government Whip from May 2015 until July 2016.

Career before politics

Guy was called to the bar in 1989. He spent 20 years as a barrister and was also Director of his family’s engineering business until 2009.

Personal life

Guy is an amateur jockey and rode his first win in 1985.

Previous holders of this role

  1. John Penrose MP

    • 2014 to 2016
  2. The Rt Hon Karen Bradley MP

    • 2013 to 2014
  3. Robert Goodwill MP

    • 2012 to 2013


Get updates to this list email feed

Copy and paste this URL in to your feed reader

  1. Government Commitment to Protect Children from Online Pornography

    • Press release
  2. Details of ministerial appointments announced

    • News story