Ministerial role

Government Whip, Lord Commissioner of HM Treasury


Whips are MPs or Lords appointed by each party to help organise their party’s contribution to parliamentary business. They are responsible for making sure the maximum number of their party members vote, and vote the way their party wants.

Current role holder: Mark Spencer MP

Mark Spencer was appointed as a Junior Lord of the Treasury (Government Whip) on 15 June 2017. He was an Assistant Government Whip from 17 July 2016 to 15 June 2017.

Mark was elected Conservative MP for Sherwood in May 2010.

Previous holders of this role

  1. Robert Syms MP

    • 2016 to 2017
  2. The Rt Hon Gavin Barwell

    • 2014 to 2015
  3. The Rt Hon Anne Milton MP

    • 2012 to 2014


Get updates to this list email feed

Copy and paste this URL in to your feed reader

  1. Macmillan and the Ramblers pledge to get people walking

    • News story