Ministerial role

Economic Secretary to the Treasury


The Economic Secretary (EST) is responsible for:

  • banking and financial services reform and regulation
    • financial stability, including relationship with the PRA
    • financial conduct, including relationship with the FCA
  • EU exit financial services
  • City competitiveness, including Financial Services Trade and Investment Board
  • retail financial services, including banking competition, consumer finance, financial advice and capability
  • bank lending and access to finance
  • financial services taxation, including bank levy, bank corp. tax surcharge, IPT
  • personal savings tax and pensions tax policy
  • insurance
  • asset management
  • Women in Finance Charter
  • sponsorship of UKFI and state owned financial assets – RBS, UKAR
  • sponsorship of UKGI and sale of government non-financial assets
  • financial sanctions and anti-money laundering
  • financial inclusion (lead on the government’s financial inclusion agenda)
  • Equitable Life
  • foreign exchange reserves and debt management policy, NS&I and the Debt Management Office
  • parliamentary deputy on economy issues

Current role holder: John Glen MP

John Glen was appointed Economic Secretary to the Treasury and City Minister on 9 January 2018.

He was Parliamentary Under Secretary of State for the Department for Culture, Media and Sport from 14 June 2017 to 8 January 2018.

He was Parliamentary Private Secretary to Philip Hammond from July 2016 until June 2017.

Political career

John Glen MP was first elected to Parliament as the MP for Salisbury in 2010.

He previously worked for the Eric Pickles and Sajid Javid as a Parliamentary Private Secretary.

Previous holders of this role

  1. Simon Kirby

    • 2016 to 2017
  2. Harriett Baldwin MP

    • 2015 to 2016
  3. The Rt Hon Andrea Leadsom MP

    • 2014 to 2015
  4. The Rt Hon Nicky Morgan

    • 2013 to 2014
  5. The Rt Hon Sajid Javid MP

    • 2012 to 2013
  6. Chloe Smith MP

    • 2011 to 2012
  7. The Rt Hon Justine Greening MP

    • 2010 to 2011


Get updates to this list email feed

Copy and paste this URL in to your feed reader

  1. New accountability rules for insurers

    • News story
  2. UK launches new anti-money laundering watchdog

    • News story
  3. Business Secretary welcomes banks' support for small businesses affected by Carillion insolvency

    • Press release
  4. Card surcharge ban means no more nasty surprises for shoppers

    • News story
  5. Over 350,000 people benefit from support to buy their own home

    • News story
  6. HM Treasury welcomes new ministerial team

    • News story
  7. Autonomy of Hazardous Scene Assessment Phase 2 – ‘MINERVA’

    • News story
  8. Pension TechSprint will show how FinTech can revolutionise the way savers manage their money

    • News story
  9. Pensions Dashboard will fundamentally change how people access their pensions - Simon Kirby

    • Speech
  10. New market-leading bond launches today

    • News story