Ministerial role

Assistant Government Whip


Whips are MPs or Lords appointed by each party to help organise their party’s contribution to parliamentary business. They are responsible for making sure the maximum number of their party members vote, and vote the way their party wants.

Previous holders of this role

  1. Iain Stewart MP

    2018 to 2019

  2. Mike Freer MP

    2017 to 2018

  3. Chris Heaton-Harris MP

    2016 to 2017

  4. Margot James

    2015 to 2016