Ministerial role

Assistant Government Whip


Whips are MPs or Lords appointed by each party to help organise their party’s contribution to parliamentary business. They are responsible for making sure the maximum number of their party members vote, and vote the way their party wants.

Current role holder: Wendy Morton MP

Wendy Morton was appointed as Assistant Government Whip on 9 January 2018.

Previous holders of this role

  1. Michael Ellis MP

    • 2016 to 2017
  2. Thérèse Coffey MP

    • 2014 to 2015
  3. The Rt Hon Amber Rudd MP

    • 2013 to 2014
  4. Robert Syms MP

    • 2012 to 2013