Ministerial role

Assistant Government Whip


Whips are MPs or Lords appointed by each party to help organise their party’s contribution to parliamentary business. They are responsible for making sure the maximum number of their party members vote, and vote the way their party wants.

Current role holder: Michelle Donelan MP

Previous holders of this role

  1. Kelly Tolhurst MP

    • 2018 to 2018
  2. Andrew Stephenson MP

    • 2017 to 2018
  3. Christopher Pincher MP

    • 2016 to 2017
  4. Simon Kirby

    • 2015 to 2016