Ministerial role

Assistant Government Whip


Whips are MPs or Lords appointed by each party to help organise their party’s contribution to parliamentary business. They are responsible for making sure the maximum number of their party members vote, and vote the way their party wants.

Current role holder: Nigel Adams MP

Nigel Adams MP was appointed as an Assistant Government Whip on 15 June 2017.

He was first appointed the Conservative MP for Selby and Ainsty in May 2010.

Previous holders of this role

  1. Mark Spencer MP

    • 2016 to 2017
  2. Stephen Barclay MP

    • 2015 to 2016