Chief Scientific Advisers

Most government departments have a Chief Scientific Adviser (CSA) to provide scientific advice.

Departmental CSAs work together under the leadership of the Government Chief Scientific Adviser to support each other and to resolve cross departmental problems.

They do this primarily through the CSA network.


The network advise the Government Chief Scientific Adviser on all aspects of policy on science and technology. In particular, they:

  • provide advice to ministers, through the Cabinet committee system
  • discuss and facilitate implementation of policy on science, technology, engineering and mathematics (STEM)
  • identify and share good practice in STEM-related areas, including the use of scientific advice in policy making
  • facilitate communication on particular high profile STEM-related issues and those posing new challenges for government


Interim Government Chief Scientific Adviser Professor Chris Whitty
Department for Business, Energy and Industrial Strategy Professor John Loughhead OBE
Department for Communities and Local Government Stephen Aldridge CB
Department for Culture, Media and Sport Currently no CSA
Department for Education Vacant
Department for Environment, Food and Rural Affairs Professor Ian Boyd
Department for Exiting the European Union Chris Jones
Department for International Development Professor Charlotte Watts
Department for International Trade Dr Mike Short CBE
Department for Transport Professor Phil Blythe
Department for Work and Pensions Trevor Huddleston
Department of Health Professor Chris Whitty
Foreign and Commonwealth Office Professor Robin Grimes
Her Majesty’s Treasury Philip Duffy
Home Office Professor John Aston
Ministry of Defence Professor Hugh Durrant-Whyte
Ministry of Justice Osama Rahman
National Security Professor Anthony Finkelstein
Food Standards Agency Professor Guy Poppy
Forestry Commission Vacant
Health and Safety Executive Professor Andrew Curran
Met Office Professor Stephen Belcher
Northern Ireland Executive Vacant
Scottish government Professor Sheila Rowan MBE
Welsh government Recruiting

Alternative arrangements for the provision of scientific advice are in place for departments which currently have no CSA.


Contact details