National curriculum

The national curriculum for England to be taught in all local-authority-maintained schools.

The national curriculum sets out the programmes of study and attainment targets for all subjects at all 4 key stages.

All local-authority-maintained schools in England must teach these programmes of study.

The majority of this national curriculum was introduced in September 2014, with English and maths coming into force for all year groups from September 2016.

The exception is the science curriculum which came into force for year 10 pupils in September 2016, and applies to year 11 pupils from September 2017.

See the National Archives website for information about the pre-2014 primary and secondary curriculums.

Curriculum by key stages

The complete framework and individual versions of the curriculum for primary and secondary key stages.

Programmes of study by subject

Individual programmes of study and attainment targets for key stages 1 to 4.

Other curriculum subjects

Curriculum interviews

Published 14 October 2013
Last updated 16 July 2014 + show all updates
  1. Updated information about key stage 4 programmes of study for English and mathematics.

  2. Added 'National curriculum: video interviews for schools'.

  3. First published.