1. Overview

There are 6 different types of British nationality. These are:

British citizenship

If you’re a British citizen you can live and work in the UK free of any immigration controls. Check if you’re already a British citizen.

You may be able to apply to register as a British citizen if you have another type of British nationality.

Further information

Contact UK Visas and Immigration (UKVI) if you’re not sure whether you have British nationality or not.

UKVI nationality contact centre

Help us improve GOV.UK

Please don't include any personal or financial information, for example your National Insurance or credit card numbers.