The King's Award for Voluntary Service

Skip contents


The King’s Award for Voluntary Service is the highest award given to volunteer groups across the UK.


To be nominated, a group must:

  • be made up of at least 3 people
  • be led by volunteers, not paid staff
  • have been running for at least 3 years
  • be based in the UK, Channel Islands or Isle of Man
  • provide a specific and direct benefit to their local communities

The majority of the group must be volunteers, and more than half the volunteers must have the right to live in the UK.

Read detailed guidance on the eligibility criteria.

What the awardees get

Awarded groups get a certificate signed by the King and a domed glass crystal. Up to 2 representatives from the group may also be invited to attend a royal garden party.

How the awards are decided

Local assessors research and visit nominated groups before writing a report on their suitability. Local assessment panels then decide which ones to put forward to the National Assessment Committee.

The committee considers the nominations and agrees a shortlist for approval by the King.

The awards are announced on 14 November in The Gazette.

You can also view the list of awardees on The King’s Award for Voluntary Service website.