This part of GOV.UK is being rebuilt – find out what beta means

HMRC internal manual

PAYE Manual

Background: PAYE service roles: available roles

There are five roles available to you in standard processing offices. These can also be allocated to staff in other business streams if required, these roles are

  • PAYE Processing Assistant
  • PAYE Processing Officer
  • PAYE Payable Order Control
  • PAYE R400 Check
  • PAYE R400 Control

These roles will allow you to perform the full range of your allocated duties in respect of ‘standard cases’ but limits your update access to records held in special business areas (SBA) to employment maintenance and updating personal details.

SBA offices have their equivalents of these roles. This enables staff in SBA offices to perform the full range of allocated duties in respect of standard cases and those within that particular office’s responsibility, but limits access to other SBA offices.

There are two other roles with limited functionality

  • PAYE Data Capture
  • PAYE View Only

In addition there are seven roles available to other business areas where there is a need to access the PAYE Service

  • PAYE Employer Processing Officer
  • PAYE Mandated Checks View
  • PAYE Merge
  • PAYE Outstanding Debt
  • PAYE Receipt Control
  • PAYE Student Loan Control
  • PAYE LTA Service Administrator