This part of GOV.UK is being rebuilt – find out what beta means

HMRC internal manual

Claimant Compliance Manual

Migrant Workers: A2 Countries

On the 1 January 2007 two more countries joined the EEA

  • Romania
  • Bulgaria

Similar to those from the A8 countries, workers from these countries, commonly referred to as the A2 countries, generally have a restriction on their access to the UK labour marker for a period of 5 years after joining the EEA.

A2 Nationals who want to take up employment in the UK from the 1st January 2007 generally need to apply for a workers authorisation document, see CCM20140