Guidance

Responsible Organisations

Responsible Organisations who provide basic check services

A Responsible Organisation (RO) is an organisation registered with the DBS to submit basic checks through a web service.

Responsibilities of a Responsible Organisation (RO)

An RO will capture the details of a basic check application in their system before transferring it to DBS via a web service. You can apply for basic checks with DBS by visiting the website of a Responsible Organisation.

Individuals can also apply for a basic check directly to DBS using our new online application route if they live or work in England or wales, or to Disclosure Scotland if they live or work in Scotland.

An RO is responsible for confirming that:

  • information supplied in each application for a basic check has been checked in line with DBS identity guidance
  • the information provided in support of the basic check is complete and true
  • the applicant has provided consent to submit the application
  • they will pay DBS for basic checks that have been sent to us

Each RO must agree to DBS Terms and Conditions meet our processing standards and have a nominated accountable officer.

Responsible Organisations providing basic check services through DBS

Responsible Organisation Name Website
Access Personal Checking Services Ltd (APCS) www.criminalrecordchecks.co.uk
CRB Disclosure Services Ltd T/A Disclosure Services www.disclosureservices.com
uCheck www.ucheck.co.uk
Northgate HR PeopleChecking www.peoplechecking.com
Staffvetting.com Limited www.staffvetting.com
Verifile www.verifile.co.uk
Vero Screening www.veroscreening.com
Experian Ltd www.experian.co.uk
Hireright Ltd www.hireright.com
Sterling Talent Solutions www.sterlingtalentsolutions.com
Onfido Limited www.onfido.com
Capita Resourcing Ltd www.watchdog.org.uk
Credence Background Screening Limited www.credence.co.uk
Atlantic Data Ltd www.atlanticdata.co.uk
GB Group Plc www.gbplc.com
Complete Background Screening www.cbscreening.co.uk
Procius Limited www.procius.com
UK CRBS Limited www.ukcrbs.co.uk
G4S Secure Solutions www.g4s.com
Personnel Checks www.personnelchecks.co.uk/dbs-crb-checks/basic-disclosure/
Arnold Clark Automobiles Ltd www.arnoldclark.com
Kent County Council County Hall www.kent.gov.uk
Pass Software Ltd www.pass-software.com
Criminal Record and Barring Service Ltd www.criminalrecordandbarringservice.co.uk
Safe Computing Limited www.safecomputing.co.uk
UTC Aerospace Systems (Atlantic Inertial Systems) www.utcaerospacesystems.com
Wandsworth Borough Council www.wandsworth.gov.uk
Powys County Council www.powys.gov.uk
Nottinghamshire County Council www.nottinghamshire.gov.uk
Buckinghamshire County Council www.buckscc.gov.uk
Agenda Resource Management Ltd www.agenda-rm.co.uk
Due Dilligence Checking Ltd www.ddc.uk.net
The Risk Advisory Group Plc www.riskadvisory.com
Security and Vetting Solutions Limited www.security-vetting.co.uk
Stockport Metropolitan Borough Council www.stockport.gov.uk
Peoplecheck Ltd www.peoplecheck.co.uk
Civil and Corporate Security Limited www.civilandcorporate.co.uk
The Security Watchdog Limited www.securitywatchdog.org.uk/
Royal Mail Group www.royalmailgroup.com
Care Check Ltd www.carecheck.co.uk
Criminal Records Services www.criminalrecordsservices.com
Dorset County Council (Social Services) www.dorsetforyou.gov.uk
Mayflower Disclosure Services www.dbsdirect.co.uk
First Advantage www.fadv.com

The list of Responsible Organisations who are registered with the DBS will be updated regularly.

Published 4 September 2017
Last updated 26 January 2018 + show all updates
  1. New Responsible Organisation added to list.
  2. Information updated in line with the DBS' new online application for basic checks.
  3. New Responsible Organisations added to the list.
  4. More Responsible Organisations added .
  5. New Responsible Organisations added.
  6. A new Responsible Organisation has been added to the list.
  7. First published.