Regulation Committee

The Regulation Committee is responsible for the regulation of social housing.

About the Regulation Committee

The Housing and Regeneration Act 2008 states that the regulation function can only be exercised by the Homes and Communities Agency acting through an independent Regulation Committee. The Regulation Committee, as a statutory committee of the HCA, is responsible for the regulation of social housing.

The organisation refers to itself as the Regulator of Social Housing in undertaking the functions of the regulatory committee. References in any enactment or instrument to the Regulator of Social Housing are references to the HCA acting through the Regulation Committee. Homes England is the trading name of the HCA’s non-regulation functions.

See the About the Regulator of Social Housing page for information about the Regulator’s purpose, operational approach and contact details.

Committee members

The committee members are appointed by the Secretary of State.

Current members are:

Simon Dow, Interim Chair of the Regulation Committee

This file may not be suitable for users of assistive technology. Request an accessible format.

If you use assistive technology (such as a screen reader) and need a version of this document in a more accessible format, please email Please tell us what format you need. It will help us if you say what assistive technology you use.

  • Simon Dow, interim Chair - appointment confirmed from 1 March 2018 for 12 months
  • Liz Butler
  • Richard Moriarty
  • Ceri Richards
  • Paul Smee
  • Richard Hughes

Executive Director of Regulation

The Executive Director of Regulation, Fiona MacGregor, leads a team of staff responsible for the regulation of registered social housing providers, in line with the Regulation Committee’s strategy for regulation.

Register of interests

You can find out more about each committee member through the register of interests page which we will update shortly.

Published 11 January 2018
Last updated 23 April 2018 + show all updates
  1. Two new Regulation Committee members appointed: Paul Smee and Richard Hughes.
  2. Current Deputy Chair, Simon Dow, appointed as interim Chair from 1 March 2018 for 12 months (21 February 2018).
  3. First published.