Guidance

HMCTS weekly operational summary

A weekly summary of the latest HM Courts and Tribunals Service operational position for users. We aim to update this every Friday at 4pm.

We email our weekly operational update to our subscribers on Sunday evenings, and share on social media on Monday mornings. Follow us on Twitter to check for daily or urgent updates.

HMCTS operational summary for week commencing Monday 15 August 2022

Next week’s update will be issued on Friday 19 August 2022.

Crime

  • Reminder: We’re hosting a number of drop-in support sessions for defence professionals. The sessions will aim to answer defence solicitors and barristers queries who use Common Platform. Registration is now open for sessions taking place between 9am and 10am on Wednesday 17 August 2022, Monday 22 August 2022, Wednesday 14 September 2022 and Monday 19 September 2022.
  • Reminder: We published new guidance on broadcasting sentencing hearings by the media in the Crown Court.
  • Reminder: Common Platform is now live in 9 additional criminal courts: in South Wales and Gwent at Cardiff Crown Court, Cardiff Magistrates’ Court, Merthyr Tydfil Magistrates’ Court, Llandrindod Wells Magistrates’ Court, Swansea Magistrates’ Court, Merthyr Tydfil Crown Court, Newport Crown Court, Newport Magistrates’ Court, and Cwmbran Magistrates’ Court.
    • Courts in North Yorkshire will be going live with the system later in the year.
  • Reminder: Criminal defence representatives should include the words “BAR ACTION” in the subject line of any email to the court about affected cases, so we can make the relevant judge aware as quickly as possible.

Family

  • Reminder: Applying for financial remedy applications on MyHMCTS has recently been improved. Legal professionals can now add themselves and replace existing representatives whenever necessary, making it easier to cover periods of annual leave. Improvements have also been made to the way documents are managed and Form C has been updated to include the efficiency statement and references to the Domestic Abuse Act 2021. More information on how to use the financial remedy service check our guidance on MyHMCTS. For detailed guidance on submitting an application watch our demonstration on YouTube.

Civil

Judicial guidance and announcements

Previous editions

Published 21 May 2021
Last updated 12 August 2022 + show all updates
  1. Update for week commencing Monday 15 August 2022 published.

  2. Added translation

  3. Update for week commencing Monday 8 August 2022 published.

  4. Update for week commencing Monday 1 August 2022 published.

  5. Update for week commencing Monday 25 July 2022 published.

  6. Update for week commencing Monday 18 July 2022 published.

  7. Added translation

  8. Update for week commencing Monday 11 July 2022 published.

  9. Updated for week commencing Monday 4 July.

  10. Update for week commencing Monday 27 June 2022 published.

  11. Operational update on bar action added.

  12. Update for week commencing Monday 20 June 2022 published.

  13. Update for week commencing Monday 13 June 2022.

  14. Update for week commencing Monday 6 June 2022 published.

  15. Update for week commencing Monday 30 May 2022 published.

  16. Update for week commencing Monday 23 May 2022 published.

  17. Added translation

  18. Update for week commencing Monday 16 May 2022 published.

  19. Update for week commencing Monday 9 May 2022 published.

  20. Update for week commencing Monday 2 May 2022.

  21. Added translation

  22. Update for week commencing Monday 25 April 2022 published.

  23. Added translation

  24. Update for week commencing Monday 18 April 2022 published.

  25. Update for week commencing Monday 11 April 2022 published.

  26. Added translation

  27. Update for week commencing Monday 4 April 2022 published.

  28. Added translation

  29. Update for week commencing Monday 28 March 2022 published.

  30. Added translation

  31. Update on Common Platform added.

  32. Update for week commencing Monday 21 March 2022 published.

  33. Added translation

  34. Update for week commencing Monday 14 March 2022 published.

  35. Added translation

  36. Added translation

  37. Update for week commencing Monday 7 March 2022 published.

  38. Added translation

  39. Update for week commencing Monday 28 February 2022 published.

  40. Added translation

  41. Update for week commencing Monday 21 February 2022 published.

  42. Added translation

  43. Update for week commencing Monday 14 February 2022 published.

  44. Added translation

  45. Update for week commencing Monday 7 February 2022 published.

  46. Update for week commencing Monday 31 January 2022 published.

  47. Added translation

  48. Update for week commencing Monday 24 January 2022 published.

  49. Added translation

  50. Update for week commencing Monday 17 January 2022 published.

  51. Update for week commencing Monday 10 January 2022 published.

  52. Added translation

  53. Update for week commencing Monday 3 January 2022 published.

  54. Update for week commencing Monday 20 December 2021 published.

  55. Added translation

  56. Update for week commencing Monday 13 December 2021 published.

  57. Update for week commencing Monday 6 December 2021 published.

  58. Added translation

  59. Update for week commencing Monday 29 November published.

  60. Added translation

  61. Update for week commencing Monday 22 November 2021 published.

  62. Added translation

  63. Update for week commencing Monday 15 November published.

  64. Page updated with changes to HMCTS operations for week commencing 8 Nov 2021.

  65. Update for week commencing Monday 1 November 2021 published.

  66. Added translation

  67. Update for week commencing Monday 25 October published.

  68. Update for week commencing Monday 18 October 2021 published.

  69. Added translation

  70. Update for week commencing Monday 11 October 2021 published.

  71. Update for week commencing Monday 4 October 2021 published.

  72. Added translation

  73. Update for week commencing Monday 27 September published.

  74. Added translation

  75. Update for week commencing Monday 20 September 2021 published.

  76. Added translation

  77. Update for week commencing Monday 13 September published.

  78. Update for week commencing Monday 6 September 2021 published.

  79. Added translation

  80. Update for week commencing Monday 30 August 2021 published.

  81. Added translation

  82. Updated for week commencing Monday 23 August 2021.

  83. Welsh translation added.

  84. Update for week commencing Monday 16 August 2021 published.

  85. Added translation

  86. Update for week commencing Monday 9 August 2021 published.

  87. Added translation

  88. Update for week commencing Monday 2 August 2021 published.

  89. Added translation

  90. Update for week commencing Monday 26 July 2021 published.

  91. Added translation

  92. Updated COVID guidance pages added.

  93. Update for week commencing Monday 19 July 2021 published.

  94. Added translation

  95. Update for week commencing Monday 12 July published.

  96. Added translation

  97. Update for week commencing Monday 5 July 2021.

  98. Added translation

  99. Update for week commencing Monday 28 June 2021 published.

  100. Added translation

  101. Update for week commencing Monday 21 June 2021 published.

  102. Added translation

  103. Update for week commencing Monday 14 June 2021 published.

  104. Added translation

  105. Update for week commencing Monday 7 June 2021 published.

  106. Update for week commencing Monday 31 May 2021 published.

  107. Added translation

  108. Added line on operational status of courts in areas where COVID19 variant is spreading.

  109. First published.