Guidance

HMCTS weekly operational summary

A weekly summary of the latest HM Courts and Tribunals Service operational position for users. We aim to update this every Friday at 4pm.

We email our weekly operational update to our subscribers on Sunday evenings, and share on social media on Monday mornings. Follow us on Twitter to check for daily or urgent updates.

HMCTS operational summary for week commencing Monday 26 September 2022

Next week’s update will be issued on Friday 30 September 2022.

  • Reminder: Barristers, solicitors and CILEX practitioners with cross-examination expertise and vulnerable witness and advocacy training are invited to register for court appointed cross-examination work in family and civil proceedings. New Domestic Abuse Act 2021 measures will prohibit alleged perpetrators of domestic abuse and their victims from cross-examining each other, with the court appointing legal practitioners in place of the prohibited parties. Email us for more information on requirements and how to register: civil_and_familybusinesssupport@justice.gov.uk
  • Reminder: We want to continue to improve our communications. Tell us what you think of information you receive in our weekly operational update and our weekly roundup.

Crime

  • Updated: From Monday 26 September 2022, the Crown Court Digital Case system (DCS) will permit the use of 3 additional Non-CPS Prosecutors: Insolvency Service, Environment Agency and Serious Fraud Office. This follows a period of successful testing and will apply to cases sent to the Crown Court on or after Monday 26 September. Find guidance and training materials for those who use DCS to access, prepare and present case information.
  • Updated: Court 14 at Isleworth Crown Court is now operational. This remote courtroom will hear case management and interlocutory hearings where defendants are not required to attend in person. The Judge and Clerk will be physically present in Court 14 and all other required participants will join hearings using video link technology. Members of the public and the press can view proceedings in the Court 14 public gallery, which will livestream all cases. This courtroom will provide additional capacity and allow other jury enabled courtrooms in the building to list trials. We carried out essential works in these rooms over the summer to prepare the courtroom and viewing gallery for operational use.
  • Reminder: Criminal defence representatives should include the words “BAR ACTION” in the subject line of any email to the court about affected cases, so we can make the relevant judge aware as quickly as possible.

Civil

  • Updated: From Thursday 15 September 2022, legal representatives must respond to claims for damages under Practice Direction 51ZB using the damages claim portal. This applies to claims issued on or after 15 September. The Damages Claims team based at the County Court Money Claims Centre in Salford will return paper responses where responses should have been made online. They will also process those cases that move from the online to the paper route, for example where only part of the claim is accepted. Read our guidance for legal representatives on how to register with MyHMCTS.

Family

Judicial guidance and announcements

Previous editions

Published 21 May 2021
Last updated 23 September 2022 + show all updates
  1. Updated for week commencing Monday 26 September 2022.

  2. Added translation

  3. Update for week commencing Monday 5 September 2022 published.

  4. Update for week commencing Monday 29 August 2022 published.

  5. Update for week commencing Monday 22 August 2022 published.

  6. Update for week commencing Monday 15 August 2022 published.

  7. Added translation

  8. Update for week commencing Monday 8 August 2022 published.

  9. Update for week commencing Monday 1 August 2022 published.

  10. Update for week commencing Monday 25 July 2022 published.

  11. Update for week commencing Monday 18 July 2022 published.

  12. Added translation

  13. Update for week commencing Monday 11 July 2022 published.

  14. Updated for week commencing Monday 4 July.

  15. Update for week commencing Monday 27 June 2022 published.

  16. Operational update on bar action added.

  17. Update for week commencing Monday 20 June 2022 published.

  18. Update for week commencing Monday 13 June 2022.

  19. Update for week commencing Monday 6 June 2022 published.

  20. Update for week commencing Monday 30 May 2022 published.

  21. Update for week commencing Monday 23 May 2022 published.

  22. Added translation

  23. Update for week commencing Monday 16 May 2022 published.

  24. Update for week commencing Monday 9 May 2022 published.

  25. Update for week commencing Monday 2 May 2022.

  26. Added translation

  27. Update for week commencing Monday 25 April 2022 published.

  28. Added translation

  29. Update for week commencing Monday 18 April 2022 published.

  30. Update for week commencing Monday 11 April 2022 published.

  31. Added translation

  32. Update for week commencing Monday 4 April 2022 published.

  33. Added translation

  34. Update for week commencing Monday 28 March 2022 published.

  35. Added translation

  36. Update on Common Platform added.

  37. Update for week commencing Monday 21 March 2022 published.

  38. Added translation

  39. Update for week commencing Monday 14 March 2022 published.

  40. Added translation

  41. Added translation

  42. Update for week commencing Monday 7 March 2022 published.

  43. Added translation

  44. Update for week commencing Monday 28 February 2022 published.

  45. Added translation

  46. Update for week commencing Monday 21 February 2022 published.

  47. Added translation

  48. Update for week commencing Monday 14 February 2022 published.

  49. Added translation

  50. Update for week commencing Monday 7 February 2022 published.

  51. Update for week commencing Monday 31 January 2022 published.

  52. Added translation

  53. Update for week commencing Monday 24 January 2022 published.

  54. Added translation

  55. Update for week commencing Monday 17 January 2022 published.

  56. Update for week commencing Monday 10 January 2022 published.

  57. Added translation

  58. Update for week commencing Monday 3 January 2022 published.

  59. Update for week commencing Monday 20 December 2021 published.

  60. Added translation

  61. Update for week commencing Monday 13 December 2021 published.

  62. Update for week commencing Monday 6 December 2021 published.

  63. Added translation

  64. Update for week commencing Monday 29 November published.

  65. Added translation

  66. Update for week commencing Monday 22 November 2021 published.

  67. Added translation

  68. Update for week commencing Monday 15 November published.

  69. Page updated with changes to HMCTS operations for week commencing 8 Nov 2021.

  70. Update for week commencing Monday 1 November 2021 published.

  71. Added translation

  72. Update for week commencing Monday 25 October published.

  73. Update for week commencing Monday 18 October 2021 published.

  74. Added translation

  75. Update for week commencing Monday 11 October 2021 published.

  76. Update for week commencing Monday 4 October 2021 published.

  77. Added translation

  78. Update for week commencing Monday 27 September published.

  79. Added translation

  80. Update for week commencing Monday 20 September 2021 published.

  81. Added translation

  82. Update for week commencing Monday 13 September published.

  83. Update for week commencing Monday 6 September 2021 published.

  84. Added translation

  85. Update for week commencing Monday 30 August 2021 published.

  86. Added translation

  87. Updated for week commencing Monday 23 August 2021.

  88. Welsh translation added.

  89. Update for week commencing Monday 16 August 2021 published.

  90. Added translation

  91. Update for week commencing Monday 9 August 2021 published.

  92. Added translation

  93. Update for week commencing Monday 2 August 2021 published.

  94. Added translation

  95. Update for week commencing Monday 26 July 2021 published.

  96. Added translation

  97. Updated COVID guidance pages added.

  98. Update for week commencing Monday 19 July 2021 published.

  99. Added translation

  100. Update for week commencing Monday 12 July published.

  101. Added translation

  102. Update for week commencing Monday 5 July 2021.

  103. Added translation

  104. Update for week commencing Monday 28 June 2021 published.

  105. Added translation

  106. Update for week commencing Monday 21 June 2021 published.

  107. Added translation

  108. Update for week commencing Monday 14 June 2021 published.

  109. Added translation

  110. Update for week commencing Monday 7 June 2021 published.

  111. Update for week commencing Monday 31 May 2021 published.

  112. Added translation

  113. Added line on operational status of courts in areas where COVID19 variant is spreading.

  114. First published.