Guidance

HMCTS weekly operational summary

A weekly summary of the latest HM Courts and Tribunals Service operational position for users. We aim to update this every Friday at 4pm.

We email our weekly operational update to our subscribers on Sunday evenings, and share on social media on Monday mornings. Follow us on Twitter to check for daily or urgent updates.

HMCTS operational summary for week commencing Monday 28 November 2022

Next week’s update will be issued on Friday 2 December 2022.

Crime

  • Reminder: Defence solicitors and barristers can join one of our regular online support sessions to get help with using Common Platform. We’ll answer your questions, offer advice and help with troubleshooting. Sessions take place on Tuesdays at 4:30pm and Thursdays at 9am - email us to book a session.

Civil

  • Updated: Medway County and Family Court has opened at its new base in Gun Wharf, Chatham. The project has created 6 hearing rooms, 6 judicial chambers, an Advocate’s room and consultation rooms. Gun Wharf replaces the former site at Anchorage House, which was vacated in June 2021.

Family

  • Updated: We’ve published a recording of our recent financial remedy webinar on YouTube. This provides an overview of the service on submitting and managing applications. We’ll be announcing more sessions via our Eventbrite channel in due course.
  • Reminder: On Tuesday 13 December, we’re hosting a webinar on the probate service for legal professionals. This webinar will provide an overview of the performance of the probate service in the past year, information on the latest data on applications and plans to improve the service as well as an opportunity for you to ask questions.

Tribunals

  • Updated: Leeds Employment Tribunal in City Exchange building will relocate to West Gate during the 2023-24 financial year, with the current lease ending on Monday 24 July 2023. The move to West Gate will allow us to exchange like for like and replicate the current location as closely as possible. We will ensure continuity of operations and that the new building meets the needs of all professional and public users therefore we will cease hearings and exit City Exchange once West Gate is ready.

Judicial guidance and announcements

Previous editions

Published 21 May 2021
Last updated 25 November 2022 + show all updates
  1. Update for week commencing Monday 28 November 2022 published.

  2. Added translation

  3. Update for week commencing Monday 21 November 2022 published.

  4. Update for week commencing Monday 14 November published.

  5. Update for week commencing Monday 7 November published.

  6. Added translation

  7. Update for week commencing Monday 31 October 2022 published.

  8. Added translation

  9. Added translation

  10. Update for week commencing Monday 24 October published.

  11. Updated for week commencing 17 October.

  12. Added translation

  13. Updated for week commencing Monday 10 October 2022.

  14. Updated for week commencing Monday 3 October 2022.

  15. Updated for week commencing Monday 26 September 2022.

  16. Added translation

  17. Update for week commencing Monday 5 September 2022 published.

  18. Update for week commencing Monday 29 August 2022 published.

  19. Update for week commencing Monday 22 August 2022 published.

  20. Update for week commencing Monday 15 August 2022 published.

  21. Added translation

  22. Update for week commencing Monday 8 August 2022 published.

  23. Update for week commencing Monday 1 August 2022 published.

  24. Update for week commencing Monday 25 July 2022 published.

  25. Update for week commencing Monday 18 July 2022 published.

  26. Added translation

  27. Update for week commencing Monday 11 July 2022 published.

  28. Updated for week commencing Monday 4 July.

  29. Update for week commencing Monday 27 June 2022 published.

  30. Operational update on bar action added.

  31. Update for week commencing Monday 20 June 2022 published.

  32. Update for week commencing Monday 13 June 2022.

  33. Update for week commencing Monday 6 June 2022 published.

  34. Update for week commencing Monday 30 May 2022 published.

  35. Update for week commencing Monday 23 May 2022 published.

  36. Added translation

  37. Update for week commencing Monday 16 May 2022 published.

  38. Update for week commencing Monday 9 May 2022 published.

  39. Update for week commencing Monday 2 May 2022.

  40. Added translation

  41. Update for week commencing Monday 25 April 2022 published.

  42. Added translation

  43. Update for week commencing Monday 18 April 2022 published.

  44. Update for week commencing Monday 11 April 2022 published.

  45. Added translation

  46. Update for week commencing Monday 4 April 2022 published.

  47. Added translation

  48. Update for week commencing Monday 28 March 2022 published.

  49. Added translation

  50. Update on Common Platform added.

  51. Update for week commencing Monday 21 March 2022 published.

  52. Added translation

  53. Update for week commencing Monday 14 March 2022 published.

  54. Added translation

  55. Added translation

  56. Update for week commencing Monday 7 March 2022 published.

  57. Added translation

  58. Update for week commencing Monday 28 February 2022 published.

  59. Added translation

  60. Update for week commencing Monday 21 February 2022 published.

  61. Added translation

  62. Update for week commencing Monday 14 February 2022 published.

  63. Added translation

  64. Update for week commencing Monday 7 February 2022 published.

  65. Update for week commencing Monday 31 January 2022 published.

  66. Added translation

  67. Update for week commencing Monday 24 January 2022 published.

  68. Added translation

  69. Update for week commencing Monday 17 January 2022 published.

  70. Update for week commencing Monday 10 January 2022 published.

  71. Added translation

  72. Update for week commencing Monday 3 January 2022 published.

  73. Update for week commencing Monday 20 December 2021 published.

  74. Added translation

  75. Update for week commencing Monday 13 December 2021 published.

  76. Update for week commencing Monday 6 December 2021 published.

  77. Added translation

  78. Update for week commencing Monday 29 November published.

  79. Added translation

  80. Update for week commencing Monday 22 November 2021 published.

  81. Added translation

  82. Update for week commencing Monday 15 November published.

  83. Page updated with changes to HMCTS operations for week commencing 8 Nov 2021.

  84. Update for week commencing Monday 1 November 2021 published.

  85. Added translation

  86. Update for week commencing Monday 25 October published.

  87. Update for week commencing Monday 18 October 2021 published.

  88. Added translation

  89. Update for week commencing Monday 11 October 2021 published.

  90. Update for week commencing Monday 4 October 2021 published.

  91. Added translation

  92. Update for week commencing Monday 27 September published.

  93. Added translation

  94. Update for week commencing Monday 20 September 2021 published.

  95. Added translation

  96. Update for week commencing Monday 13 September published.

  97. Update for week commencing Monday 6 September 2021 published.

  98. Added translation

  99. Update for week commencing Monday 30 August 2021 published.

  100. Added translation

  101. Updated for week commencing Monday 23 August 2021.

  102. Welsh translation added.

  103. Update for week commencing Monday 16 August 2021 published.

  104. Added translation

  105. Update for week commencing Monday 9 August 2021 published.

  106. Added translation

  107. Update for week commencing Monday 2 August 2021 published.

  108. Added translation

  109. Update for week commencing Monday 26 July 2021 published.

  110. Added translation

  111. Updated COVID guidance pages added.

  112. Update for week commencing Monday 19 July 2021 published.

  113. Added translation

  114. Update for week commencing Monday 12 July published.

  115. Added translation

  116. Update for week commencing Monday 5 July 2021.

  117. Added translation

  118. Update for week commencing Monday 28 June 2021 published.

  119. Added translation

  120. Update for week commencing Monday 21 June 2021 published.

  121. Added translation

  122. Update for week commencing Monday 14 June 2021 published.

  123. Added translation

  124. Update for week commencing Monday 7 June 2021 published.

  125. Update for week commencing Monday 31 May 2021 published.

  126. Added translation

  127. Added line on operational status of courts in areas where COVID19 variant is spreading.

  128. First published.