Guidance

Export Working Capital Scheme

Find out about our Export Working Capital Scheme: its benefits, eligibility criteria and how to apply.

Our Export Working Capital Scheme helps UK exporters access working capital finance for specific export-related contracts.

We can provide partial guarantees covering up to 80% of the risk to lenders to cover the credit risks associated with export working capital facilities both pre- and post-shipment.

There is no minimum or maximum value for the working capital facility.

How it works

Export Working Capital Scheme

Benefits

The scheme is particularly useful when a UK exporter wins an overseas contract that is higher in value than they can typically fulfil or succeeds in winning more overseas contracts than it has done before.

The lender is protected, to the extent of our guarantee, against the failure of the UK exporter to repay amounts due under the working capital facility.

Eligibility criteria

To be eligible for support under our Export Working Capital Scheme, the transaction must satisfy UKEF’s eligibility criteria, which includes the requirements that:

  • the exporter must be carrying on business in the UK, Isle of Man or Channel Islands
  • the exporter must have entered, or be intending to enter, into a contract for the supply of goods and/or services with a company or other organisation that carries on business outside the UK

All transactions supported by UKEF must satisfy:

The transaction may not be supported if there are sanctions imposed on the country of the overseas customer.

Cost

The guaranteed lender pays us a guarantee fee. This is a proportion of the interest margin received from the UK exporter for providing the working capital facility.

How to apply

To access Export Working Capital Support, exporters should discuss their potential application with their bank.

Exporters who bank with one of the names listed below may be able to benefit from a streamlined process. There is no need to fill in any of the forms on this page.

Customers of other approved lenders should discuss their application with their bank and complete one of the application forms below.

To find out more about our Export Working Capital Scheme or to discuss eligibility for our support, contact our customer services team.

Email customer.service@ukexportfinance.gov.uk or call +44 (0)20 7271 8010.

Contact details for approved lenders

Access our Export Working Capital Scheme directly through your bank

You do not need to complete the forms on this page if you bank with:

Barclays Bank Plc Mathew Enright, Vice President, Trade and Working Capital 020 7116 3999 mathew.enright@barclays.com
HSBC Bank Plc Liz Ambler (London and South East) N/A elizabethambler@hsbc.com
  Matt Osborn (Midlands, South West and Wales) N/A matt.j.osborn@hsbc.com
  Jill Hague (North, including Scotland and Northern Ireland) N/A jillhague@hsbc.com
Lloyds Banking Group/Bank of Scotland Plc Barry George, Product Manager, Trade Product N/A barry.george@lloydsbanking.com
National Westminster Bank Plc Chris Duggan, SolutionsLine Team 0800 2100235 internationalbanking@natwest.com
The Royal Bank of Scotland Plc Chris Duggan, SolutionsLine Team 0800 2100235 internationalbanking@rbs.co.uk
Ulster Bank Gavin Murphy, Global Trade Finance 028 9027 6632 gavin.murphy@ulsterbankcm.com
Santander UK Plc Paul Cushings, Trade and Supplier Finance 07808 398557 paul.cushings@santander.co.uk

Other participating banks

You can also access our Export Working Capital Scheme through another approved lender.

Lender Contact Telephone Email
ABN Amro Carmen Jessurun, Head of Export Finance 00 31 20 3833757 carmen.jessurun@nl.abnamro.com
Bank of Ireland Willie McCoy, Senior Manager, Trade Finance Business Development 028 90 433291 willie.mccoy@boi.com
Clydesdale Bank Plc Simon Hayden, Trade Finance Manager 07831 318295 simon.hayden@cybg.com
Danske Bank Northern Ireland (businesses based and registered in Northern Ireland) Mark Beattie 02890 048 642 mark.beattie@danskebank.co.uk
ICICI Bank Nishant Kumar, International Financial Institutions Group 020 7375 5097 nishant.kumar@icicibank.com
London Forfaiting Company Ian Lucas, Head of UK Marketing 020 7397 1527 ian.lucas@forfaiting.com
State Bank of India UK Paul Tromans, Area Branch Manager 01902 716050 mgr.wolverhampton.sbiuk@statebank.com
Yorkshire Bank Simon Hayden, Trade Finance Manager 07831 318295 simon.hayden@cybg.com

Application forms

If accessing our Export Working Capital Scheme through another approved lender use the following forms:

Once a UKEF guarantee facility has been agreed and a facility letter issued:

More information

Read our guide for applicants on business processes and factors, to find out how we make decisions on applications.

Published 24 April 2013
Last updated 16 October 2017 + show all updates
  1. Updated following announcement that small businesses can now access government-backed export finance directly from their banks.

  2. Change to Security of Information Arrangements

  3. First published.