2016 Key stage 2: assessment and reporting arrangements (ARA)

Section 1: Introduction

About the 2016 key stage ARA and how to use the new manuals format

1 Introduction

This guidance details the statutory requirements for key stage 2 (KS2) national curriculum assessment and reporting for the 2015 to 2016 academic year. It is produced by the Standards and Testing Agency (STA), an executive agency of the Department for Education (DfE).

The assessment and reporting arrangements apply to maintained schools, including maintained special schools, academies, including free schools, Service Children’s Education (SCE) schools and participating independent schools with pupils in KS2. Full details of how the ARA applies to different types of schools are included in section 13.

The new national curriculum has been taught in all local authority (LA) maintained primary schools, and some academies, in England since September 2014. Those pupils who are at the end of KS2 in May 2016 will be the first to be assessed against the new national curriculum.

This guidance details the key changes to the 2016 KS2 assessments and the updated reporting and assessment arrangements.

1.1 Using this manual format

You can search this guidance by:

  • selecting ‘open all’
  • pressing Ctrl+f on your keyboard if you’re using a PC or ⌘+f if you’re using a Mac
  • typing the word or search term that you’re looking for

A downloadable PDF version will be published alongside this version in October 2015, for anybody who chooses to print out a complete version.