Official Statistics

New local authority codes: January 2011

On 1 January 2011 the Office of National Statistics introduced a new coding and naming policy for some statistical geographies.


Local authority codes

This file may not be suitable for users of assistive technology. Request an accessible format.

If you use assistive technology (such as a screen reader) and need a version of this document in a more accessible format, please email . Please tell us what format you need. It will help us if you say what assistive technology you use.


Publication type: Other statistics

Region: England

Release date: 20 December 2010

Coverage status: Final

Publication status: Published

The new coding and naming policy includes a change from the existing 3-digit local authority (previously LEA) code to a new 9-digit code. This publication lists all of the local authorities with the responsibility for providing education in England and includes both new and old codes.

The ONS has advised that the new codes should be used in all exchanges of statistics and published outputs that normally include codes. DfE has no firm proposals to apply the new codes to school numbering, UPRNs, data collections or data transfers with local authorities.

The new codes are made up of two parts within the format ANNNNNNNN. The first three characters (ANN) represent the area entity (i.e. an area ‘type’, such as ‘county’), with the first alpha value representing the country within which the entity lies. The second part of the code comprises six number characters (NNNNNN) and this represents the specific area instance (e.g. Hampshire).

Further information regarding the coding and naming policy for statistical geographies can be found on the ONS website.

Andrew Thomson
01325 392080

Published 20 December 2010