Written statement to Parliament

Government's legislative programme 2013 to 2014

Written Ministerial Statement detailing the forthcoming programme for government for the Parliamentary year.

This was published under the 2010 to 2015 Conservative and Liberal Democrat coalition government

Houses of Parliament

Leader of the House of Commons and Lord Privy Seal (Rt. Hon Andrew Lansley CBE MP):

Following yesterday’s State Opening of Parliament, and for the convenience of the House, I am listing below the 17 Bills which were announced yesterday:

  • Anti-Social Behaviour, Crime and Policing Bill
  • Care Bill
  • Defence Reform Bill
  • Deregulation Bill
  • High Speed Two Bill (Hybrid Bill)
  • High Speed Rail (Preparation) Bill
  • Immigration Bill
  • Intellectual Property Bill
  • Local Audit and Accountability Bill
  • Mesothelioma Bill
  • National Insurance Contributions Bill
  • Northern Ireland (Miscellaneous Provisions) Bill
  • Pensions Bill
  • Offender Rehabilitation Bill
  • Gambling (Licensing and Advertising) Bill
  • Water Bill

Primary legislation will also be taken forward in accordance with the European Union Act 2011 to seek Parliament’s approval for measures proposed by the European Union.

Nine of these Bills, or parts of them, will have had pre-legislative scrutiny prior to introduction.

The following Bills will be published in draft:

  • Consumer Rights Bill
  • Deregulation Bill
  • National Insurance Contributions Bill
  • A draft Bill concerning National Assembly For Wales
  • A draft Bill concerning changes to the Riot Damages Act 1886

Further measures are expected to be published in draft later in the Session.

The government also intends to bring forward a Law Commission Bill on inheritance and trustees’ powers and also a consolidation Bill on co-operatives.

Detailed information about each of these Bills can be accessed from the Number 10 website.

Published 9 May 2013