Written statement to Parliament

Daniel Morgan Independent Panel

Written ministerial statement on new members for the Daniel Morgan Independent Panel.

This was published under the 2010 to 2015 Conservative and Liberal Democrat coalition government

The Rt Hon Theresa May MP

The Secretary of State for the Home Department (Theresa May): Further to my Statement of 10 May 2013 announcing the creation of the Daniel Morgan Independent Panel, I can today announce that the Chair, Sir Stanley Burnton, will be joined on the panel by the following panel members:

  • Silvia Casale: criminologist and independent expert for the Council of Europe.

  • Michael Kellett: former police officer (Lancashire Constabulary).

  • Graham Smith: academic and senior researcher at the University of Manchester.

The work of the Independent Panel is set out in the full terms of reference which were placed in the Library of the House in May 2013. These provide that the panel will seek to complete its work within 12 months of the documentation being made available.

Published 11 September 2013