Policy paper

The Belfast Agreement

The Belfast Agreement, also known as the Good Friday Agreement, was reached in multi-party negotiations and signed on 10 April 1998.


The Belfast Agreement

This file may not be suitable for users of assistive technology. Request a different format.

If you use assistive technology and need a version of this document in a more accessible format please email nioweb.editor@nio.x.gsi.gov.uk quoting your address, telephone number along with the title of the publication ("The Belfast Agreement").


The Belfast Agreement covers 3 areas:

  • the creation of a democratically elected Assembly
  • the creation of a North/South Ministerial Council
  • the creation of a British-Irish Council and the British-Irish Governmental Conference

Help us improve GOV.UK

Please don't include any personal or financial information, for example your National Insurance or credit card numbers.