Policy paper

Shoreline management plans (SMPs)

Published 11 March 2009

The complete list of SMPs is below, with the name of the local council or Environment Agency office leading on the plan.

SMP 1 Scottish border to the River Tyne (Northumberland and North Tyneside) Lead: Northumberland County Council

SMP 2 The Tyne to Flamborough Head (North East) Lead: Scarborough Borough Council

SMP 3 Flamborough Head to Gibraltar Point Lead: East Riding Yorkshire Council

SMP 4 Gibraltar Point to Hunstanton (The Wash) Lead: Environment Agency

SMP 5 Hunstanton to Kelling Hard (North Norfolk) Lead: Environment Agency

SMP6 Kelling Hard to Lowestoft (Kelling to Lowestoft) Lead: North Norfolk District Council

SMP 7 Lowestoft to Felixtowe (Lowestoft Ness to Felixstowe Languard) Lead: Suffolk Coastal District Council

SMP 8 Essex and South Suffolk Lead: Environment Agency

SMP 9 River Medway & Swale Estuary Lead: Environment Agency

SMP 10 Isle of Grain to South Foreland Lead: Canterbury County Council

SMP 11 South Foreland to Beachy Head Lead: Shepway District Council

SMP 12 Beachy Head to Selsey Bill (South Downs) Lead: Arun District Council

SMP 13 Selsey Bill to Hurst Spit (North Solent) Lead: New Forest District Council

SMP 14 Isle of Wight Lead: Isle of Wight Council

SMP 15 Hurst Spit to Durlston Head (Poole & Christchurch Bays) Lead: Bournemouth Borough Council

SMP 16 Durlston Head to Rame Head Lead: Teignbridge District Council

SMP 17 Rame Head to Hartland Point (Cornwall & Isles of Scilly) Lead: Caradon District Council

SMP 18 Hartland Point to Anchor Head (North Devon & Somerset) Lead: North Devon District Council

SMP 19 Anchor Head to Lavernock Point (Severn Estuary) Lead: Monmouthshire Council

SMP 20 Lavernock Point to St Ann’s Head (South Wales) Lead: Carmarthenshire Council

SMP 21 St Ann’s Head to Great Ormes Head (West of Wales) Lead: Pembrokeshire Council

SMP 22 Great Ormes Head to Scotland (North West England and North Wales) Lead: Blackpool Borough Council