The UK’s sanctions framework after 31 December 2020

The page tells you about the UK's new sanctions framework which came into force at 11pm on 31 December 2020.



UK sanctions regimes are in force under the Sanctions and Anti-Money Laundering Act 2018 (the Sanctions Act). This legislation has enabled us to transition existing EU regimes into UK law and establish UK autonomous regimes. These apply in the whole of the UK, including in Northern Ireland.

Read the UK sanctions guidance for further details on complying with sanctions.

Published 31 January 2020
Last updated 31 December 2020 + show all updates
  1. The UK's sanctions framework has changed.

  2. First published.