Public Sector Internal Audit Standards

Guidance for the public sector



The Public Sector Internal Audit Standards are mandatory for all central government departments, agencies and executive NDPBs.

These standards, which are based on the mandatory elements of the International Professional Practices Framework (IPPF) of the Global Institute of Internal Auditors (IIA), are intended to promote further improvement in the professionalism, quality, consistency and effectiveness of internal audit across the public sector. The Standards have been revised from 1 April 2017 to reflect the latest changes in the IPPF.

Published 14 June 2013
Last updated 31 August 2017 + show all updates
  1. Updated with revised Public Sector Internal Audit Standards.
  2. Public Sector Internal Audit Standards from March 2017
  3. First published.