Marine plan areas in England

Map showing how England's inshore and offshore waters have been split into 11 marine plan areas.


Marine plan areas in England

Request an accessible format.
If you use assistive technology (such as a screen reader) and need a version of this document in a more accessible format, please email Please tell us what format you need. It will help us if you say what assistive technology you use.


The UK is divided into marine planning regions with an associated plan authority who prepares a marine plan for each area. In Scotland, Wales and Northern Ireland the devolved administrations are the planning authorities and in England the MMO is the planning authority.

On the map there are 11 plan areas. The MMO has taken on board feedback from stakeholders and as a result the North West inshore and offshore areas are prepared under a single process and only one plan is produced for both areas.

This map is indicative only and boundaries may change as plan making starts in each area. In April 2014 the boundaries for the plan areas were changed in line with the outer limit of the Exclusive Economic Zone. This is particularly the case in the South West areas.

Shapefiles and data for all marine plan areas are available.

If you would like further information please subscribe to our newsletter.

Published 11 June 2014