Research and analysis

Law Commission: tenth programme of law reform

This document contains the following information: Law Commission: tenth programme of law reform.


Tenth programme of law reform - Full Text

Request an accessible format.
If you use assistive technology (such as a screen reader) and need a version of this document in a more accessible format, please email Please tell us what format you need. It will help us if you say what assistive technology you use.


This document contains the following information: Tenth programme of law reform.

The Law Commission is required to submit to the Lord Chancellor programmes for the examination of different branches of the law that might require reform.

The seven projects in this, the tenth programme, are: adult social care; Intestate Succession and the Inheritance (Provision for Family and Dependants) Act 1975; level crossings legislation; marital property agreements; private rights for redress under the Unfair Commercial Practices Directive; simplification of criminal law; unfitness to plead and the insanity defence.

Related publications and all Law Commission reports, consultation papers and announcements are available on the Law Commission website.

This paper was laid before Parliament in response to a legislative requirement or as a Return to an Address and was ordered to be printed by the House of Commons.

Published 11 June 2008