Key stage 2 English grammar, punctuation and spelling test framework document 2013 to 2015

English grammar, punctuation and spelling test framework document detailing key stage 2 assessment 2013 to 2015.



In July 2012 the government announced that a new statutory English grammar, punctuation and spelling test for all children in year 6 would be introduced during the 2012 to 2013 academic year.

The test will include items that measure:

  • sentence grammar (through identification and grammatical accuracy)
  • punctuation (through identification and grammatical accuracy)
  • vocabulary (through grammatical accuracy)
  • spelling

The purpose of the test framework is to provide the documentation to guide the development of the test. It includes those parts outlined in the national curriculum that will be covered in the test. The cognitive processes associated with the measurement of the construct of grammar, punctuation, vocabulary and spelling are also detailed.

The framework summarises the measures that have been put in place in order to improve accessibility for all children and to minimise bias affecting particular groups. Also included in the test framework is a test specification by which valid, reliable and comparable tests can be constructed each year. This includes specifics about test format, item types, response types and marking as well as a test-level reporting strategy.


  • what is a test framework?
  • nature of the test
  • content domain
  • cognitive domain
  • diversity and inclusion
  • test specification
  • appendices