Government Security Classifications

How the government classifies information assets to ensure they are appropriately protected.



The Government Security Classification Policy came into force on 2 April 2014 and describes how HM Government classifies information assets to ensure they are appropriately protected. It applies to all information that government collects, stores, processes, generates or shares to deliver services and conduct business.

Government procurement and contract management

We have also published guidance for government procurers and contract managers:

Published 18 October 2013
Last updated 21 May 2018 + show all updates
  1. 'Government Security Classifications' and 'Working with official information' documents updated.
  2. Updated 'Managing Information Risk at OFFICIAL'.
  3. First published.