Guidance

Get a goods movement reference: check service availability and issues

Check the availability and any issues affecting the get a goods movement reference service.

Documents

Details

Latest updates on the availability and any issues affecting the get a goods movement reference service.

Published 23 December 2020
Last updated 17 March 2023 + show all updates
  1. Updated to confirm there is planned maintenance work on the Customs Declaration Service from 9:30pm on Saturday 25 March 2023 to 4:30am on Sunday 26 March 2023.

  2. Planned downtime from 9:30pm on Saturday 25 March 2023 to 4:30am Sunday 26 March 2023 has been added.

  3. Planned downtime from 9:30pm on Saturday 25 February 2023 to 4:30am on Sunday 26 February has been added.

  4. Planned downtime from 9:30pm on Saturday 14 January 2023 to 4am on Sunday 15 January 2023 has been added.

  5. The service issue relating to adding Movement Reference Numbers has been resolved.

  6. A service issue about adding Movement Reference Numbers has been added.

  7. Planned downtime from 9:30pm to 11:30pm on Saturday 17 December 2022 has been added.

  8. The service issue about delays with message response times in the Customs Declaration Service has been resolved.

  9. There are delays with message response times in the Customs Declaration Service that are being investigated.

  10. Issues with the Customs Declaration Service which may be impacting the Goods Vehicle Movement Service have been resolved.

  11. Information about issues with the Customs Declaration Service which may be impacting the Goods Vehicle Movement Service has been updated.

  12. There are issues with the Customs Declaration Service which may be impacting the Goods Vehicle Movement Service. Goods movement references remain mandatory for freight movements using the Goods Vehicle Movement Service, you should check with your carrier before embarking on your journey as you may be turned away without a valid goods movement reference.

  13. Planned downtime from 10pm Saturday 29 October 2022 to 1am Sunday 30 October 2022 added.

  14. The New Computerised Transit System service issues which were effecting this service have now been resolved.

  15. A service issue about accessing the Goods Vehicle Movement service has been added.

  16. Planned downtime from 9:30pm to 10:30pm on Saturday 15 October 2022 has been added.

  17. Planned downtime of the Customs Declaration Service from 9:30pm on Saturday 24 September 2022 to 4am on Sunday 25 September 2022 will affect this service.

  18. The message about the Customs Declaration Service has been updated. It will now be unavailable from 10pm on Saturday 27 August 2022 to 00:30am Sunday 28 August 2022.

  19. Planned downtime from 10pm on Saturday 27 August 2022 to 1:30am on Sunday 28 August 2022 has been added.

  20. Planned downtime for Saturday 30 July 2022 will no longer end at 7:30am on Sunday 31 July 2022. Downtime will now end at 11:30pm on Saturday 30 July 2022.

  21. The planned downtime beginning on Saturday 30 July 2022 has been extended. The planned downtime will now be Saturday 30 July 2022 9:30pm to 7:30am Sunday 31 July 2022.

  22. Planned downtime from 9:30pm on Saturday 30 July 2022 to 5:30am Sunday 31 July 2022 has been added.

  23. Planned downtime on Saturday 13 August 2022 and Sunday 14 August 2022 from 10pm to 10:45pm has been added.

  24. The issue affecting the Goods Vehicle Movement Service (GVMS) has been resolved. The service is now fully operational, and you'll need Goods Movement References (GMRs) for all movements using GVMS.

  25. The service issue affecting the Goods Vehicle Movement Service has been updated.

  26. A service issue about accessing the Goods Vehicle Movement service has been added.

  27. Planned downtime messages between 9:30pm on Saturday 25 June 2022 and 4am on Sunday 26 June 2022 have been added.

  28. Planned downtime message from Saturday 21 May 2022 10:30pm to 1am Sunday 22 May 2022 has been added.

  29. The planned downtime from 11:59pm on Tuesday 17 May 2022 to 1am Wednesday 18 May 2022 has been cancelled.

  30. Due to scheduled maintenance you will be unable to access our online service from Tuesday 17 May 2022 11:59pm to 1am Wednesday 18 May 2022.

  31. Planned downtime that may affect actions linked to CHIEF between 10am and 12pm (midday) on Tuesday 10 May 2022 has been added.

  32. Planned downtime from midday to 2pm on Wednesday 4 May 2022 has been cancelled.

  33. For the planned downtime on 27 April 2022 and 4 May 2022, information about what carriers need to do for inbound crossings on the short straits (Dover and Eurotunnel only) has been added.

  34. Planned downtime messages from midday to 2pm on Wednesday 27 April 2022 and midday to 2pm Wednesday 4 May 2022 and Saturday 30 April 2022 11pm to 1am Sunday 1 May 2022 have been added.

  35. The Goods Vehicle Movement Service (GVMS) is now fully operational, and you'll need a Goods Movement References (GMRs) for all movements using GVMS.

  36. We have made upgrades to the HMRC network to allow availability of the Goods Vehicle Movement Service (GVMS).

  37. Interim measures due to ongoing issues with the goods vehicle movement service have been extended to midday, Monday 11 April 2022.

  38. Interim measures due to ongoing issues with the goods vehicle movement service have been extended to midday, 7 April 2022.

  39. Planned downtime from Saturday 9 April 2022 9:30pm to 7:30am Sunday 10 April 2022 has been added.

  40. Interim measures in response to ongoing issues with the goods movement reference service have been introduced.

  41. Planned downtime from 9:30pm Saturday 29 January 2022 to 5am Sunday 30 January 2022 has been added.

  42. First published.