Financial sanctions, Republic of Guinea-Bissau

Republic of Guinea-Bissau, is currently subject to financial sanctions. This document contains the current list of designated persons.


Current list of designated persons: Guinea-Bissau

This file may not be suitable for users of assistive technology. Request an accessible format.

If you use assistive technology (such as a screen reader) and need a version of this document in a more accessible format, please email Please tell us what format you need. It will help us if you say what assistive technology you use.


In 2012 the European Union imposed restrictive measures, including asset freezes, directed against certain persons threatening the peace, security or stability of the Republic of Guinea-Bissau. This concerns in particular those who played a leading role in the mutiny of 1 April 2010 and the coup d’etat of 12 April 2012, and whose actions continue to be aimed at undermining the rule of law and the primacy of civilian power, and furthering instability in the country.

EU regulations

You can view Council Regulation (EU) No 377/2012 on restrictive measures in the Republic of Guinea-Bissau online.

You can find the most recent amendments to the Regulation by searching on EUR-Lex – an online database that provides free access to EU law, international agreements and other public documents. Just:

  • enter the Regulation number into the search bar
  • open the relevant page and
  • click ‘document information’

UK regulations

Published 19 June 2012
Last updated 11 January 2018 + show all updates
  1. Updated with latest HM Treasury notice, 11/01/2018, Guinea-Bissau (Reg 2018/031)
  2. Updated links to regulation as part of routine site maintenance
  3. Updated: Latest HM Treasury notice, 09/03/2017, Guinea-Bissau (Reg 2017/403)
  4. new sanctions
  5. First published.