Financial sanctions, North Korea (Democratic People’s Republic of Korea)

North Korea (Democratic People’s Republic of Korea), is currently subject to financial sanctions. This document contains the current list of designated persons.


In 2006 the United Nations imposed restrictions on a range of goods from entering or leaving the North Korea and imposed a travel ban and an asset freeze against those persons designated as persons who engage in or provide support for, including through other illicit means, North Korea’s nuclear-related, other weapons of mass destruction-related and ballistic missile-related programmes.

On 2 March 2016 the UN Security Council adopted Resolution 2270 (2016) imposing new sanctions against North Korea

Current EU regulations

View the consolidated version of Council Regulation 329/2007 concerning restrictive measures against North Korea.


While the link above is described as the latest consolidated version of the relevant EU Regulation on the EUR-Lex website, readers are to be aware that amendments to the Regulation are not always immediately included in that consolidated version. Accordingly HM Treasury does not accept any liability for possible omissions of relevant data or mistakes, and for any use made of the consolidated version. The most recent amendments to the implementing Regulation can be found by searching for them individually at

Current UK regulations

Financial Sanctions Guidance

Read the Office of Financial Sanctions Implementation’s guide to financial sanctions.

Licence applications

Licences authorise certain activities or types of transaction that would otherwise be prohibited by asset freezing legislation. Download a licence application.